The Reasons Why

The reasons why things have to be different this time around…

First, let me preface by saying that I have laid back on a lot of sugary goodness. No more sodas except on a rare occasion. I can’t remember the last time I had ice cream. Ok, that’s a lie. It was the Saturday before Christmas, but I can not recall the time before that. Cookies and other sweets? They just don’t spark my interest anymore. Sure I get cravings, and most of the time I will find something to fill it, but I have really tried to lay off the sugar. A tough feat during the holidays.

Also, I am trying to limit the carbs when and where I can. I guess what I am trying to say is that I have been working myself into a cleaner diet because there was no reason to put it off until 1/1/2014.

Yesterday I gave you my goals in Ready, Set, 2014! Which include cleaning up my diet to clean up my health.

Today I started A New Beginning, revealing what will become my “before” picture and my weight. Both were equally hard to swallow.

Also hard to swallow are the three (3) reasons why Cleaning Up My Diet to Clean Up My Health is so important this time around.

PCSO:
Almost a year ago I was diagnosed with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome. While that diagnosis still has me on a learning curve, I recently found out from the same doctor that I am high risk for Ovarian cancer.

Plantar Fasciitis:
Several months ago I was experiencing an odd foot pain but I brushed it off. A month or two later I was struck with another running bug. Unfortunately, it didn’t last long because the odd foot pain turned into a major pain. Soon after that I paid a visit to my doctor and was told about plantar fasciitis. And what a pain in my neck foot its been!

Digestive/Intestinal:
I am not yet sure where to go with this one. My primary doctor and I just started scratching the surface. Here is what I do know: I’ve been feeling unusually bloated and gassy. I am tired and nauseated at different times throughout the day, but often after eating.

Three different issues. Three different doctors. What do they all have in common? They all tell me that my weight and diet are contributing factors to each ailment. Each doctor has given reasons why and how my weight/diet are factors and each have given me a (different) goal weight to reach within the next six months to a year. More so, two of the three doctors have recommended a cleaner and more whole diet.

Three against one. Who am I to argue with the experts? The doctors have given me lot of information, but I still want to learn more. I think I need to be as educated as I can so that I have the tools to be my healthiest, most active, self.

Other equally important reasons include: my future, Alex, family, and the fact that I still want to be a runner girl.

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

