#Reverb13: Jump

Project Reverb is a way to reflect on the past year and project into the next year with a prompt a day for 31 days.  These prompts are meant to be answered in posts on personal blogs, and anyone can join in.

Free writing: Write for five consecutive minutes on the word “jump” as it pertains to this past year.  No editing.  Set a timer.  Just write.

“Jump” was the prompt from December 12th, so as you can tell I am a bit behind. Truth is that I wasn’t sure I was going to participate or not, but I’ve realized that I can benefit from reflection.

Jump. That is a big, sometimes scary word.

This year I jumped into a new position at work. Eh. It’s had its ups and downs. Thankfully I love team I work with on a daily basis or it wouldn’t be so bearable.

Come to think of it, I didn’t really “jump” a whole lot in 2013. All things considered I lived a rather bland life this past year. I’ll be honest and say that I got very comfortable this year, which is strange because of how dissatisfied I was with a lot of things.

If I may, I want to write about the word jump as it may pertain to the future. The boyfriend and I have been discussing the future a lot recently. Particularly this upcoming year. We want to make a lot of changes, and I always think of change as a leap of faith. Or jumping.

We both want to be back in school, which will require a new city and likely new jobs. If it all pans out it will be a huge “jump” for us both. We are anxious and but mostly we feel ready for this next hurdle in our lives. This jump will be the start of the rest of our lives. A fresh start. And that makes it all worth it.

My brother recently told me that I need to crawl before I can walk because I have a need for instant gratification. Well, I need to walk before I can jump. Thankfully, I’ve learned that throughout the year and I am already doing the work for the big “jump”. When the time comes, I’ll be ready to take that flying leap without a single doubt or regret. When I land, I can only hope that I’ll be as prepared as I need to be.

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

