#Reverb13: Challenge

Project Reverb is a way to reflect on the past year and project into the next year with a prompt a day for 31 days.  These prompts are meant to be answered in posts on personal blogs, and anyone can join in.

Challenge: Did you take on a new challenge?  What was it?  Is there any challenge you deliberately avoided?  What do you want to do to challenge yourself in 2014?

“Challenge” was the prompt from December 5th, so as you can tell I am a bit behind. Truth is that I wasn’t sure I was going to participate or not, but I’ve realized that I can benefit from reflection.

I always love a new challenge.  Particularly if it is one that I have set for myself. One that keeps me busy and focused. This year I faced challenges that were unplanned. I don’t enjoy these kinds of challenges. Does anyone?

My biggest challenge was overcoming all those unplanned challenges!

Many of the challenges I faced in 2013 were of the internal sort. Ones where I had to make choices. And then there were other kinds of challenges. I haven’t discussed my health challenges in-depth on the blog, but that was a big one this year. Perhaps I’ll detail that in a post at a later date. I also faced challenges with my weight, emotional eating, plantar fasciitis in my left foot, a new to me job at work, and a few other things. In many ways I wish I could avoid all of them! Unfortunately, there is no way to do that.

2013 didn’t give me an opportunity to set my own challenges. I wasn’t really “with it” and I had a lot of other challenges distracting me from my main goals. So I have a lot of mixed feelings about 2013 and I am over joyed about the prospect of 2014.

Where there is a will, there is a way. Right? In 2014 I am going to run a half marathon. I don’t know how and I don’t know when. But God willing, I will. Training will be the biggest challenge, but also my foot. I don’t know how my foot (feet) will hold up against the miles.

I’ll also keep working on the whole emotional eating thing. That one still gets me every time.

I will take it as it comes. One day at a time.  

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

