#Reverb13: 20/20

Project Reverb is a way to reflect on the past year and project into the next year with a prompt a day for 31 days.  These prompts are meant to be answered in posts on personal blogs, and anyone can join in.

20/20: Hindsight is the one thing we never benefit from in the present.  Is there one moment you wish you could do over?

“20/20” was the prompt from December 4th, so as you can tell I am a bit behind. Truth is that I wasn’t sure I was going to participate or not, but I’ve realized that I can benefit from reflection.

Wow. There is a lot I could say on this topic. There are a lot of moments I wish I could do over. But if I did, would I be where I am right now? Would I be who I am?

Probably not.

In the Reverb prompt “Shine” I said that Alex and I had some deep conversations recently. During one conversation he stated that he wishes he could re-do the first half of the year and the mistakes that were made in regards to our relationship. Don’t get me wrong, we both did a lot to contribute to the hurt. But it surprised me when he said that he wishes he could do it over. Heck, I know I do! I just wasn’t certain he felt the same way. 

As I look back on those difficult months I realize that it all was necessary. He had to move away and do that internship. We had to break up. We had to go through all the crap, the hurt, and the pain. If we didn’t, then we wouldn’t be where we are now and where we are is a very good place. 

We look back on that time, although it still stings a little, knowing that we have learned a lot from it. Our communication is the best thing to have come from it. We can talk things out like pros. We share, discuss, and compromise. We became different people, but we also became a different couple. We became a better couple.

No do overs are really necessary here. What will be, will be. For this scenario the best part is when people notice how in love we are.

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

