#Reverb13: Shine

Project Reverb is a way to reflect on the past year and project into the next year with a prompt a day for 31 days.  These prompts are meant to be answered in posts on personal blogs, and anyone can join in.

Shine: What was the best moment of 2013?

“Shine” was the prompt from December 2nd, so as you can tell I am a bit behind. Truth is that I wasn’t sure I was going to participate or not, but I’ve realized that I can benefit from reflection.

Shine. My best moment of 2013 is hard to pick out. Honestly, I didn’t have to many. It’s been a tough year and I struggled a lot. My relationship hit rock bottom near the start of the year, my health was a roller-coaster, goals were left on the back burner, financial budgets crumbled, and nothing was how it should have been. At least, not in my mind.

After a few months of heartache and separation Alex and I were able to mend our relationship and are now stronger than ever. For this reflection I wouldn’t call that the best  moment.

I feel as though my best moment came this past weekend. As crazy as that sounds. After all the ups and downs of 2013, my best moment came while enjoying a rare weekend off with Alex.

The weekend didn’t start off as planned and I was getting rather frustrated. Emotional too. I really had no reason to except that things weren’t going my way. Saturday night we spent the evening watching my Florida State Seminoles win the ACC Championship and punch their ticket to the National Championship game next month. Sunday we headed out for a day at Disney.

Somehow we got into a deep conversation (all while enjoy the parks) about life, the future, and other assorted things. The conversations continued on into Monday, and even into today (Tuesday). Through all the talking I learned a lot about myself as a person, a friend, and a girlfriend. I learned I have a lot of work to do still and that I am not always the person I strive to be. I am not “shining” in every possible way.

The best moment came when I was able apologized for my wrongs and I heard “I love you” in return.

In the last few days I have been moved, and changed, in ways I never expected when the weekend started. Because of that I know am going to shine a little brighter in 2014.

One thought on “#Reverb13: Shine

  1. Pingback: #Reverb13: 20/20 | Coffee With Sabrina

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

