I am a Stress Eater {Weigh In}

Two posts in one day! I think this blog might be back in business! Hallelujah!

photo

I am a stress eater (read: emotional eater). I always have been and probably always will be.  It is reflected in my weigh-in this week.

217.4

The past several weeks have been nothing but stress. Resulting in me eating a LOT of junk food. It all started when I returned from vacation.

I returned to work the day after vacation and things were chaos. Our workload had doubled because of holiday preparations. There were new seasonal hires that I was responsible for training. And we had a brand new boss who had never worked a day of retail in her life. Who said it was the most wonderful time of the year?

my job

And that is being polite.

On the family front things were upside down. A rocky relationship with my mom had progressively gotten worse. It has been coming to a head for a while now, but now it’s blowing up in a massive way. Honestly, it’s probably the one relationship I am most emotional about.

I have been a hot mess of emotions. And so I eat. I eat the stress. I eat the feelings. I eat all the emotions. The fix is only temporary and I almost always regret my food choices.

This is where the work really begins. I recognize the triggers, and I know the signs, but I need to make the stop. I need to overcome the emotions and not let the food win. For me, that’s easier said than done.

Food will not win. I am more powerful than the food! 

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

