Clarification and Creations {Recipe}

Clarification

In my last post I talked about counting calories once again. My dear friend Lynsey left a comment on that post that has me wanting to clarify what I was actually trying to say.

I don’t care what the dr said, I think 1200 is too low.  You should figure out what you need another way because that’s crazy!

Like I responded to Lynsey, I’m not necessarily using 1200 as my baseline.  While it is set at 1240 on My Fitness Pal, personally it’s closer to 1400 or 1500. However, while counting calories this week I’ve noticed what kinds of food I’m eating and that is a huge problem.  I think 1400 or 1500 could very realistic for me given the job that I am currently doing – a lot of moving, lifting, bending, pushing and pulling. I do thins for about 5 hours a day, 4 days a week. That being said, eating 1500 calories a day  (or more) would be OK if it was a healthy 1500 and loaded with fruits, veggies, and healthy proteins rather than the crap I’ve been feeding myself.

I hope that clarifies what I am doing and what I am trying to achieve. Honestly, I am not just counting calories for a number at the end of the day, but more to see my food habits. I need to change what I am eating.

Creations!

A few weeks ago my niece and nephew came for a visit at Aunt Sabrina’s. Every time my niece comes over she wants to make a dessert creation. Basically a creation is something we make up based on whatever ingredients we find in the house and then we let our imaginations lead the way.

The ingredients we found for this creation include:

  • Pillsbury Crescent Rolls
  • Nutella
  • Apples
  • Cinnamon
  • Sugar
  • Butter

Game on! We created not one, but two desserts!

First, Chocolate Cinnamon Sugar Roll Up.

  • We took one package of Pillsbury Crescent Rolls and unrolled them all onto a large cutting board.
  • A spoonful of Nutella and dabbed it near the widest end of the rolls.
  • Roll up the crescent rolls and press close. (Don’t want to lose any chocolate!)
  • Add some cinnamon sugar to a bowl and coat all crescent rolls in the mixture.
  • Bake according to the Pillsbury package, or golden brown.

Second, Cinnamon Sugar Apple Roll Up.

  • Chop up two small apples into 16-20 wedges.
  • Same as before, we took one package of Pillsbury Crescent Rolls and unrolled them all onto a large cutting board.
  • Melt about 1 tablespoon of butter and brushed a small amount on each roll.
  • Next, we placed two apple slices on each roll and sprinkles with cinnamon and sugar.
  • Roll up the crescent rolls and press close.
  • Again, we coated all the rolls in cinnamon sugar mixture.
  • Bake according to the Pillsbury package, or golden brown.

ENJOY!

picstitch (2)

One of our most visited creations can be found HERE!

Don’t forget to “Pin It!” using the button below.

3 thoughts on “Clarification and Creations {Recipe}

  1. Bella

    I agree with you – what you eat is so important. When you’re really eating good foods, 1200 calories can stretch quite a way, and conversely, if you’re eating junk, 1800 won’t be enough. Tracking what you eat will start to give you great insight into your nutrition overall. It’s been a key for me and my weight loss.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Striving for Balance (Weigh In) | Coffee With Sabrina

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

