A Little Bit of Catch Up

Life has been busy to say the least. Here is a quick run down of what’s been going on in my world as of late.

It has rained every.single.day but one here in Central Florida. Ugh. As I look out my window right now I can see the sun is quickly becoming overshadowed by another storm and I hear the boisterous booms from thunder aren’t to far behind.

rain

I changed “work centers” at my job. It is more money and a very different schedule. Instead of going in at 2pm or later and working until close, I now go in between 6am and 7:30am and work until 2 or 3pm. It is taking a while to adjust.

I just had a follow-up to the doctor’s appointment I had back in February. According to her scale I am down just over 11 pounds since then. As always, she encouraged me to eat a natural and organic diet 80% of the time.

I have another appointment on Wednesday with another doctor. Lately I’ve been having spells of dizziness or feeling light-headed, with some occasional nausea. It comes and goes in quick waves, it’s unsettling and I am hopeful about getting some answers.

My niece and nephew were over for a visit last week. It was 4 days of non stop action. Movies, puzzles, ice cream, baking, shopping, and any other adventures we could get ourselves into. I have some recipes to post from our baking day. Hopefully tomorrow, but definitely this week.
photo 2 (1) photo 1 (1)

On the topic of recipes, THIS recipe that I posted last summer has had over 1000 views from Pinterest this week. Crazy! I don’t know how it happened, but I appreciate the love. It also reminded me that I need to make that cake again soon.  I haven’t been on Pinterest much as of late, but it is a great source for inspiration!

Food trucks have been taking the world by storm and I can’t help but profess my love for them (Alex too). Whenever we can we always try to hit the events local to us and show our love. This past Friday there was an event and we ate our hearts out. The nice thing is we normally go with a group so we order different things, cut in halves or quarters, then share with everyone.  After the next event I will do a complete recap to highlight this local love of ours.

First we got in line for cupcakes. Those are important you know, and the Yum Yum Truck does not disappoint.
cupcakes.png

Next we went to get our Chicken and Waffle fix from Melissa’s Chicken and Waffles! Alex got his covered in bacon and mine with their homemade spicy sauce! So good!
waffles.png

And last we indulged in some BBQ from Up In Smoke. Whom ever thought to cover a BBQ sandwich in either slaw or mac n cheese was a brilliant foodie!
bbq.png

Speaking of food trucks, Alex is now fully engulfed in the search for a culinary degree program. There are so many degrees and so many options that it is hard to decide what will be the best fit for him. Between the culinary classes he has previously taken and the craze of food trucks he has cemented his goal to be chef. Now we just need to get his foot in the door.

Oh! And do you recall my Small Goals post from two weeks ago? I was on point with all the goals except for blogging,  I really enjoyed the idea of little goals and short things to aim for each week.

Despite all the fun and excitement, I’ve been feeling tired, stressed, and a little bit off. So I took myself out for a well-earned mani and pedi. And tonight I am going to have a date night with Alex. This morning we couldn’t recall the last time we were out alone, so a spontaneous Monday night date sounded perfect.

And I do have a question for all of you! I am on my feet all day at work and we can wear just about any sneaker or tennis shoe we want. In the next few days I will be doing some serious shoe shopping because the Nike’s I have now have seen better days and by the end of my work day my feet are hurting more than they should. I am open to any and all comfy shoe suggestions that will offer stability and support. 

Random and all over the place, but it completely fulfills its duty as a catch up blog.
I hope y’all are having a great start to the week!

3 thoughts on “A Little Bit of Catch Up

  1. Lynsey

    It hasn’t rained here in weeks! Send some our way. Eric would love the chicken and waffles. I’m scared to try them!

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

