It’s July (4th) !?!

Despite the up’s and down’s that I’ve already endured this year, it really does seem as though I was just celebrating New Years Eve! Now it’s already July 4th and the year is more than half over.

Crazy!

For me, the first half of the year has a lot of resemblance to the picture below.

photo (5)

Most days were clouded and deary. Sometimes I was too wrapped up in my own stuff to let the sunshine through, other times it was stormy because of reasons outside of my control.

The goals I made for myself at the start of the new year were abandoned just as quickly as they were formed. Through the storms of the first half of the year I became someone I did not recognize. At the same time, those storms taught me some lessons that I needed to learn too.

I am strong when I stand on my own two feet. I can control my own health and my own destiny. I am independent. I am not broken or weak. I am worth something. I am me! 

Once I pieced those lessons together the clouds and rain started to dissipate all on their own.

With six months left in the year I have a lot of ground I want to make up, and a lot of things I want to change. I always said this year would be about becoming a better version of myself; one day at a time.  While I never shared my exact goals with you, its time to reevaluate and do some personal work shopping. 

I want to have goals with more focus and a plan, too, for the 2nd half of 2013.

One thing I know for sure is that my health must become a priority. Old habits die-hard, but since my PCOS diagnosis I really don’t have an option anymore. I did well for a few months, even lost close to 20 pounds, but then I fell off the wagon. That’s not a choice if I want to control this and live a happy, healthy life. This means clean, low carb, eating to help with the PCOS and some other health issues/concerns.

I want to register and run a half marathon. Alex and I already have one in mind, and no it’s not a Disney race. More on this race to come soon. I know this means more than just running. I need to cross train too. In fact, I’d still love to give CrossFit a chance as soon as my bank account allows for it.

Finally, I would like to make strides in my career and education. I am not yet sure exactly where or how, but I know I want to be ready to dive in come January 2014.

While I drafted this post yesterday I kept thinking that these goals seem lofty. Maybe they are, but I know I can break them down into smaller daily or weekly goals that will help me when its time to look at the bigger picture. I also know that these goals are necessary  to becoming a better me.

4 thoughts on “It’s July (4th) !?!

  1. Pingback: Independence and Birthday’s | Coffee With Sabrina

  2. Marla (@marlajsera)

    I’m sitting here feeling the same way that I can’t believe the year is half over. I need to take a step back and re-evaluate the goals I set for 2013 myself of I’m not going to achieve them. I don’t think your goals are lofty. Just break them down and work on little pieces at a time.

    Reply
  3. Kristi

    You have to sometimes have those dreary days to soul search and decide what you really want and who you really are. It’s an amazing feel when you start breaking through those dark moments.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Small Goals | Coffee With Sabrina

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

