Local Love {Farmers Market}

Not that long ago I was out shopping with my mom when on a whim I started flipping products over to see where they were made. I was pleasantly surprised to see many of the things in one particular store were all Made in America. For that reason I decided to pick up a few practical odds and ends. When I got home I started looking for the Made in America stamp on things I already own but I wasn’t striking the gold.

This got me thinking about the things I purchase on a regular basis. Where do I make these purchases, and who am I actually paying? While it’s not practical for me to get rid of all the products I already own and re-purchase only what is Made in America, I can be more conscious of what I am buying in the future. The first, and maybe easiest way, is with the food I put on the table.

Without getting political, there are so many benefits to shopping locally for our food. It’s how the European’s do it!  Most of my family (mom’s side is all in Italy) go to the market every single day! And they buy only what they need. Grant it, daily trips to the market don’t suit my life style but I can certainly go weekly to a local farmers market or produce stand.
— Food is freshest and (produce) is harvested at it’s peak.
— Build the community by getting to know the farmers and vendors responsible for local food.
— It’s an investment in the future and our children’s future.

This past Saturday Alex and I ventured to the Winter Park Farmers Market. I’ve been to a variety of farmers markets but this one is my favorite. I mean, we did have to drive an hour to get there, but it’s so worth it!

Healthiness

To me there is nothing better than waking up on a crisp Saturday morning and heading to the local farmers market. Grabbing a small handcrafted coffee and a tasty breakfast treat is priority upon arrival.

With my reusable canvas bags in hand, I carefully make my rounds, making sure to stop at every vendor. Stands with samples first, then breads and cheeses, and finally the produce and other extra items. I swear, I could spend hours just taking it all in and chatting up the vendors.

We spent over an hour and about $50 on all our goodies. $50 well spent, and aside from meats we are set for the week. I should add that the strawberries were so ripe and perfect that I didn’t wait until we got home to dig in!

Here are a few of our favorite vendors, or at least the ones I got vendor information on.

Sunchowder’s Emporia – fresh jams, butters and more!

Davis Bakery and Café – Best breakfast bagels!

Winter Park Honey – Fresh and natural. Love.

Winter Park Dairy – Alex’s favorite!

Mannix Vanilla – Perfect for the family baker.

Olde Hearth Bread Co – One of my favorites!

Emma’s Sweets – Mm, chocolate!

Do you have a farmers market that you love? In what way do you shop local?

8 thoughts on “Local Love {Farmers Market}

  1. Shannon (@FabShanneyPants)

    I love farmers markets for all of the reasons you described. Same with shopping locally. It always makes me sad to see an awesome little local business go out of business so I do try to do my part. I live in Utah so right now there are no markets but I love summer when they are here. Beautiful pictures!

    Reply
  2. Bella

    I couldn’t agree with you more in terms of shopping locally and often. I’ve actually read something recently that said that shopping more often (keeping less food in the house at one time) is great for weight loss. With less food in the pantry and fridge, there’s less chance of overeating. Makes sense.

    My mom (2nd generation Italian) shops almost every day. She always buys in season produce, and that’s how she taught us to eat, too.

    I haven’t hit a farmer’s market since the summer, but I’ve been loving going to my local Sprouts Market. I’m looking forward to hitting the real farmer’s markets in when the weather gets better.

    Reply
    1. Sabrina Post author

      You are so right! And I really believe the fact about weight loss. Sometimes my dad goes to the grocery store every day for produce and what not. But even that’s not the same as a market or something smaller.

      I hope you get to go to a real market soon! 🙂

      Reply
  3. sophieyeo

    Great post! I’m from Wales, but I also blog about farmers’ markets, and I love the variety that you get with each market you visit. Even in a small country, there is so much variety from town to town. 🙂 Thank you for sharing your experience!

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

