Scratch That! Work Shopping 2012

I woke up this morning to temperatures in the 40’s! It was blissful! We’ve quickly reached 65 degrees, but I will always welcome any weather that does not include heat and humidity!

It was perfect to cozy up on the couch with my coffee and blogs. I read, commented, and proceeded to write. When I went back to proof read I was thought “who wants to read this!?” and promptly decided to scratch that! I sent it to the draft folder in case I can revamp it later.

Since scratching that blog I have been work-shopping my thoughts to close out 2012 and welcome 2013. Thus creating a new one!

Through the year my goals and resolutions of 2012 have long since been forgotten. This isn’t really much different from years past. Here is a quick look at those goals:

1. MOVE!
2. Get out of retail by holiday season 2012.
3. Run ToT 10 in September.
4. Eat more vegetarian and organic.
5. Break the unhealthy cycle and find a feel good weight.
6. Work on a budget. Save more.
7. Take at least two classes per semester towards my degree.
8. Trip to Italy to visit the family.
9. Keep working on my Italian.
10. Be kind. Pay it forward. Volunteer.
11. Have more quite time. Unplug from cyber world.
12. Read my Dear 2012 Self letter at least once a month.

This year was tough for me but I recognize that we all fought a battle or difficulty this year.

I did not move or get out of retail, but I have a new-found appreciation for the roof over my head and a regular paycheck.

Alex and I ran the Tower of Terror 10 Miler with less than perfect preparations and results, but it brought us closer and made us stronger.

I ate more vegetarian and organic when it was convenient, and I went in the opposite direction of a feel good weight. However, I learned a lot about the foods I ate and their effects on my body.

I built a budget but still struggled to save much more than I already had. If it’s not one thing, then it’s another. Alex got a second job and to help contribute so I could focus on school and volunteer projects. We were blessed to have enough to pay our bills, have fun, and keep a stash in savings.

I took two classes during the Spring semester and only one in the Fall. I loved my spring classes, especially Creative Writing but I despised my math class in the fall.

I didn’t visit my family in Italy but we sent my mom for two weeks over her Thanksgiving break. Since she was diagnosed with breast cancer late this fall, it was important that she had the opportunity to go visit her family before starting treatments. Mom and I made an effort to communicate in Italian more than we have in the past, but it’s hard to do without excluding my dad.

I volunteered with animals and at the school my mom teaches at, like I always have. It’s a very humbling roll to have in society, especially with all the tragedies that effected us this year. In light of that, I wish I would have done more.

I spent a lot of time unplugged. This might have been the one goal that actually changed me and my relationships. I am so much more present with Alex and our families. I took more social media breaks than even before and I didn’t care if I miss a whole weekends worth of blogs or tweets. My life went on!

It was about this time last year that I wrote my first ever Dear Self letter. I didn’t read it every month, but I read it quite frequently, and sometimes to other people. It was a welcome reminded to treasure each day with the ones I love. I will likely write another one for the upcoming year.

The good, the bad, and the ugly from 2012 is almost behind me (and all of us). I’m not dragging my garbage or excuses into 2013, but I can only hope I learned from them.

thanks-not-laughing-absurdly-new-years-ecard-someecards

Have you seen the cards for New Years? I’ve had some good chuckles while looking at them. Smile

It’s time to action some lunch, iced coffee, and my thoughts for 2013!

3 thoughts on “Scratch That! Work Shopping 2012

  1. Pingback: FMM: 2013! | Coffee With Sabrina

  2. Bella

    I’d say your 2012 was very successful. How amazing that you sent your mom to Italy! I missed that when you wrote about it, but I have to say, that’s such a wonderful gift to give her.

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

