2012, A Slippery Slope

The year started out with a bang and a BIG proclamation. I had a plan of action for virtually every aspect of my life and top it  off I was dead set on running the Tower of Terror 10 Miler. For the first several months I felt like I was unstoppable. I was going to school two days a week, running 3-4 days a week, I got out of a job I hated and found a job I love. The school semester ended, my new job was in full swing, and my plan of action dissipated.

It’s a dangerous place to be when things start sliding backwards. Hopefully one has the awareness to recognize and the discipline to change. I did not. I’ve struggled, I’ve given up, and I’ve started again. I never once stopped to evaluate.

In 2012 I rode the emotional, physical, and mental roller-coaster  I felt like I was on super speed and in reverse. Everyday falling a little faster and a little further.

To finally be aware of my backwards slide. To finally ask for help. To reach outside of my comfort zone. To have my black hole finally give way to light, a glimmer of hope. To climb back up the slope and hope it’s a little less slippery this time around.

2013 needs to be simple. It needs to be able balance, control, and health. In 2013 I need to take it one day at a time.

I won’t wait until 2013 though. It’s a long climb up this slope and I could use a head start.

One thought on “2012, A Slippery Slope

  1. Ali Mc

    I can relate. I feel like I can’t find any motivation right now. I think I just peaked at my half and needed a break. Are we really supposed to workout every day for life?!?! lol it’s too much.

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

