30 Days on Whole30

October flew by and so did my initial Whole30 challenge.

Things got progressively harder as the weeks (days) went by, and honestly I got lazy (more complacent).  Week 1 was a breeze. Week 2 had a few slip ups. Week 3 was tough.

This last week showed me how strong I can be when it comes to food, but also how weak. Pumpkin treats and candy are plentiful everywhere I go, new seasonal drinks (coffee) are readily available, and I am sucker for all things fall.

I avoided buying the Blue Bell Pumpkin Ice Cream, but I had two Pumpkin Spice Lattes in one day.
I avoided the temptations of going to Steak n Shake, but then I visited the local cupcake shop and picked up a few treats for myself and the family.
I avoided Pumpkin Spice waffles and bought fruit instead.
I avoided milkshakes and drank hot tea in it’s place.

I am exhausted. Work has been long and tiring. The holidays are in full swing for many of us retail folks. Stressed and tired make for less than Whole food choices.

I still have a long ways to go to get my body (and mind) on the right track of healthiness. I am human and I make less than stellar (whole) choices. The effects of processed foods are more than just visual, friends. Whole30 was about more than weight loss, it was about learning and changing habits.

Sugar, carbs, and grease are not my friends anymore. When I eat too much my body tells me so. I’m learning, even if it is the hard (gross) way.

The biggest lesson I learned from doing the Whole30 is that I CAN eat Whole foods that are delicious, fill me up, and that are easy to prepare. I CAN be successful at a healthy, whole life.

Monday, October 1st: 220.2
Monday, October 8th: 216.4
Monday, October 15th: 215.0
Monday, October 22nd: 214.9
Tuesday, October 30th: 215.2

READ THE BOOK!

It Starts With Food is changing my life, even if it is a slow change.

7 thoughts on “30 Days on Whole30

    1. Sabrina Post author

      I am going to stick with the basics that I already know and have implemented while I do some more readings and become better prepared. It’s a lifestyle change and I need to have the tools to make it work. 🙂

      Reply
  1. Ali Mc

    I am so proud of you. It is sooooo hard not to indulge all the time, especially around candy baring holidays. I ate 6 pumpkin pie blizzards this month ;P

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

