Season of Change and Life Plans

It’s time to turn over a new leaf.

It’s time to take a count of what is right with life and time to fix what isn’t.

As I shed the rough skin of summer, I look for treasures and renewed hope in the colors of fall. I have to take the time out to remember that what seems endless and brutal will give way to something more peaceful and beautiful.

In my short life of 27 years I have learned the values of taking time to reflect, to take a count of my life and review my plans for the future. Am I on track or are there changes I still need to make to eventually reach the highest goals of my life?

Winds are blowing and times are changing. It’s time to buckle up, chin up, and pray hard.

SEASON OF CHANGE

The past month has been crazy for me. Filled with what if’s, then what’s, hopes, dreams, and possibilities. I started thinking about my own life plans.

Let’s face it, I’ve been planning my life since I was a little girl. Didn’t we all plan our weddings a million times?

My life plan according to the child version of me (which I can vividly remember) was: Get married, live up north, have a job in broadcasting, two Golden Retrievers (named Harry Potter and Nole), travel for fun, and teach dance to under privileged kids in the city.

Life didn’t turn out that way.

Just a year and a half ago, June 2011, I had an entirely different life plan. One I never envisioned, but I was beginning to like how it could play out. I would move to Minnesota within the year, transfer to Macy’s in downtown Minneapolis, and be one of their merchandisers to decorate for the seasons. I’d meet a nice guy, maybe I would finish school and maybe I wouldn’t  run a half marathon, and then I would live happily ever after.

That changed quickly when I was swept off my feet by a guy named Alex.

Here I am, October 2012 with a whole new set of changes laid out before me.

What’s happening? Where I am a going? And what are my plans?

To be continued…
Check back tomorrow for part two!

How have your Life Plans changed over the years? 

6 thoughts on “Season of Change and Life Plans

  1. Kevin J. Parham

    Great post! Life has a way of whisking us down paths that we never anticipate nor plan for. The best advice is to go with the flow because you never know at first where you are headed or why. I guess that’s one of the many things about life that makes it an entriguing adventure.

    Best to you!

    Reply
  2. Café Moka

    Oh yes, my life plans have changed! I never thought I would move back in my hometown. Never thought I would work as a French immersion teacher. Never thought I would have so much student debts. Never thought life would be that hard.

    Reply
  3. Tabitha

    What a cliff hanger. I love Minneapolis and if I didn’t want to leave the cold and snow behind we would move there but I want to move to Macon, GA

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Season of Change and Life Plans II | Coffee With Sabrina

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

