To Sum It Up and What’s Next

Take Aways from the Tower of Terror 10 Miler:

– I can do anything I want, no matter how scared I might be.

– Disney races are fun and magical, even if you don’t finish.

– There will always be someone faster than me. But there will always be someone slower too.

– Walking is Okay.

– Having someone there with you makes the pain and discomfort much more tolerable.

– Training is important and a fundamental necessity for success.

– Alex is the best person to come into my life. I couldn’t have done it without him.

– Getting pulled off at mile 7 was devastating, humbling, and motivating.

– Races aren’t about winning it’s about pushing myself to new limits.

 

Previous posts from the Tower of Terror 10 Mile Weekend:
The First Few Days
Race Day!
The Inaugural Tower of Terror 10 Miler
Coral Reef Restaurant
Chef Mickey’s
Wolfgang Puck Express
Food and Wine Festival

 

What’s Next:

– Well, Alex’s dad was so inspired by us that he has registered for the Family 5k at Disney on Marathon weekend in January. Alex’s younger brother also registered and they are going to start the C25K!

– That means that Alex and I will be registering too! So the races continue!

– Which also means I will start the C25K over again. Back to basics. This will also be more pleasant when Fall finally arrives in Florida. Summers are too brutal.

– Since we were pulled off the course at Mile 7, Alex and I have decided that we will run it again next year. Hopefully, with a season of cooler temperature ahead of us we can lay a very solid running foundation to carry us into the dog days of summer.

– Crossfit. I want to give it a go by the end of the year.

– I am done with Week One of Whole 30 / October Unprocessed and going head strong into Week Two. (Week One review to come.)

And I had a few questions about the shirts Alex I are wearing in this picture:

227877_491211540896769_513313287_n

We bought custom iron-ons from TwobyTutuCreations! We loved them and got tons of compliments throughout the day and especially at the expo.

A close up of the front and back.

IMAG1598-1

400894_10152168580880393_2075248690_n

6 thoughts on “To Sum It Up and What’s Next

  1. Bella

    7 miles is incredible! You should be very proud of yourself, and I’m glad that you already registered for the 5K and next year for the HTH. And Crossfit? {I bow to you!}

    Reply
    1. Sabrina Post author

      Registration won’t open for next years 10 miler until spring, but we are putting money aside. And Crossfit, I just want to give a WOD a shot. Ya know, get my feet wet a little.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: FMM: Inside My Home | Coffee With Sabrina

  3. Aimee

    I really enjoyed your recap of your Disney trip and the race. You hit the nail on the head when you said that races aren’t about winning, but pushing yourself to new limits. I would also add that they are about having fun too. I despise running in the heat so I commend you for making it 7 miles. I think it is so great that you have inspired Alex’s dad to run a 5K. My friend ran it last year. I was there to cheer her on and it was such a fun crowd.

    Wow Crossfit! I’ve thought about it, but I’m not quite ready to commit just yet. I really would love to try it one day.

    Reply
  4. Kate

    I am so proud of you for going and doing it anyway 🙂 I’ve got a half marathon next week that I’m not looking forward to, especially considering everything that’s going on for me. I have an ambition to start the race… TBD if I finish 😉

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

