Simplifying June

“The ability to simplify means to eliminate the unnecessary so that the necessary may speak.” — Hans Hofmann

When I decided to unplug it was amazing how much I got accomplished. Not only did I become aware of all the distractions in my day-to-day life but I also started pondering the thought of simplifying my life.  

I am not about to go live in the country and throw out all my digital devices, but what happened to good ole fashioned pen and paper? I have an app for this certain tool or an app for that certain social media site.  It’s a miracle I remember my user names and passwords.

Why do I need a secondary app, besides mobile banking, to help me budget my bills?  My checkbook and the piggy bank on my bookshelf never failed me before!

Why do I need an app to count my calories and another one to record my workouts? My diet minder journal was always a sure thing! 

This digital age has been wonderful, don’t get me wrong. But I feel like I have gotten careless in some aspects of my life because I have an android app to do it all for me. 

Here is what I am going to do during the month of June. A little experiment, if you will. I am going to dust off two trusty items: my piggy bank and diet minder journal. And I will forego their digital counterparts. 

So I’ll give it to you straight. These days I suck at saving money. Sometimes the digital world makes it too easy! Just like carrying my check card, its way to easy for me to just swipe the card and go. 

This month I am going to return to my old tried and true method of allowances. Every payday I will head to the bank and withdraw a predetermined set amount and that is the money I have for all NON-ESSENTIAL expenditures. Whatever I have left over will carry into the next week. Leaving my check card only for bills, gas, and household essentials. If it’s not essential then my check card stays home, or tucked away in the glove box.

The trick with carrying cash is that at the end of the day any $5 bills, and all smaller forms of currency, I have to drop them into my piggy bank. It’s a win, win, win. I spend a lot less money because I don’t buy useless things because it’s shiny or fun, and my piggy bank gets fat for vacation! 🙂

… Now if I can just find my checkbook! 

Truth be told, I suck equally as much at counting calories watching what I eat. I am good, really good, at counting calories when I am using pen and paper.  Logging into website or app is convenient, but I just don’t do it. And when I do, I hardly think about what I am putting in my mouth. At some point it seems like a lost cause to keep trying. Pen and paper are my favorite tools, so I am just going to write it all down. If I bite it, I write it. 

Simple? I hope so! Here’s to making my piggy bank fat and me, well, not so fat! 😉 

I don’t know about you, but didn’t life seem simpler way back when?

4 thoughts on “Simplifying June

  1. Ali Mc

    Argh! isn’t being healthy and such hard?! I always find it so challenging. I used to count calories and sometimes go back to it if I’m really falling off the wagon with eating but now I tend to just eat when I’m hungry and workout more 🙂 I like it better

    Reply
  2. nancim72

    I am the total opposite. If I have cash on me, I will buy the stupidest stuff. But if I have to record a check card purchase in our checkbook, I think twice. It’s funny how everyone is different. Sounds like you have a great plan for June – good luck! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Lynsey

    Sounds like a wonderful idea! I have great intentions of starting to record calories and even mentally do it until dinner when I’m eating with my family. Ugh, then it all goes to he!!. I need to get going before I gain 50lbs back!

    Reply
  4. cookie

    Hey, thanks for stopping by at my blog (yeah, I know I am late…)

    I could use time off the computer too. I love reading blogs, but it takes away so much time of my day. Like now, its already 10,12 pm and I want to be in bed by 10.15. Not much luck with that I am afraid.

    I like the myfitnesspal app though. Simply because it has such a big database for foods, and I don’t have to google every item or look it up in my calorie book (I have one though). Of course, if you write it down, you soon get a knack for how many calories is in the food. And you have to add it up yourself. I guess that’s where my laziness gets the better of me 😉

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

