DIY: Ticket Shadow Box

Several months ago, when my obsession with Pinterest first began, I found a Shadow Box to display ticket stubs. I thought this was a really neat idea, especially since I keep all my tickets and they end up in a dusty pile on my bookshelf.  The only pin I could find on Pinterest left no direction or link. It was just a photo. 

I pinned it anyways because I knew it would be an awesome way to display ticket stubs from movies or other events that Alex and I go to. Plus it will be a neat keepsake to look back on some day! 

During a recent outing to the local craft store I picked up the supplies I thought would be needed for this project. Yesterday was a rainy day in Florida because of Tropical Storm Beryl and it gave me the perfect opportunity to get crafty! 

One disclaimer though. I dove right into the project so I failed to take step by step photos. However, it’s fairly simple and I have a lot of confidence in your crafting abilities! 🙂 

Here is what you need: 

  • A shadow box (I got an 8×10) 
  • Construction paper or decorative craft paper 
  • Dremel with drill bit or small saw to cut slit in top 
  • Scissors
  • Glue (Double sided tape would work also) 
  • Sandpaper (optional)
  • And all your ticket stubs!

Here is what you do:

  • Unpacked my shadow box and took the cardboard backing off. 
  • Cut decorative craft paper down to size using the previously removed cardboard and scissors. 
  • Glue the craft paper onto the cardboard side that would be facing into my shadow box.
  • Prepare a work space to cut the slit in your box and mark off how big as a guide. My slit is about 5 inches long.
  • Use the dremel to drill a hole through the wood until it came out clean on the other side. 
  • Slowly moving across the top of the box I guided the dremel to create my slit. (This was a bit challenging)
  • At this point I used the sand paper just to smooth the wood on the inside where I created my slit. 
  • Put the shadow box back together with your cardboard backing. 
  • Insert tickets into box and let them fall as they may! 
Boy, I sure hope those direction are clear. It’s really simple to do and takes no time at all. 
Here are some pictures of my final project! 
Here is a look at the slit from the top.

HAPPY CRAFTING! AND HAPPY PINNING! 
5 thoughts on “DIY: Ticket Shadow Box

  1. Ali Mc

    Sabrina I love this! I am currently looking for fun art projects because my home is seriously lacking ….well, homeiness. I have found some cool things but I love this – it will be great to do after Coldplay – as we are going to see them for our anniversary 🙂

    Reply
  2. Marjorie

    Thank you so much for this !! I too, saw the pinterest photo and wanted to know how to make it! Such a great help.

    Reply
  3. Ashley Kinder

    Hi! I’m also pretty obsessed with Pinterest — I’m coming up to my “1 year anniversary” with the addiction (ha!). I think I saw the same ticket holder pin and stumbled across your blog looking for a DIY version. My husband and I just celebrated our seven year dating anniversary (only married since August!) and over the years I’ve saved EVERY ticket stub and nik-nack imaginable. I’m going to follow your instructions and chronicle how it went on my blog http://www.fancyfork.wordpress.com sometime in the next week. I’ll be crediting you and linking to your blog, of course!

    Thank you for the inspiration!
    Ashley
    xo

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

