Unplugged and Uncluttered

“By prevailing over all obstacles and distractions, one may unfailingly arrive at his chosen goal or destination” — Christopher Columbus

The craziness of daily life paired with a never-ending to-do list are easy distractions, and I’ve been so distracted lately. So I did the only thing I could think of and unplugged myself from all non-essential distractions. 

Wouldn’t you know that I got a lot of important things done!

  • I clean and organized the mess I live in. 
  • Spent quality time with Alex. 
  • Started and finished many put off projects.
  • Went shopping with my mom. 
  • Read a book and caught up on my magazines. 
  • Got Father’s day all planned and put together. 
  • Brewed my own pot of coffee and made iced coffee — without going to Starbucks! 
  • Slept past 8am! 
  • Confidently accepted a new job and left my old one. 

There is something oddly rejuvenating and comforting about that list. 

One more thing about getting things done. In effort to keep with a running routine and ensure some extra “me” time, I am joining the Summer Running Streak over at Runner’s World. It starts Memorial Day (Monday 5/28) and goes through Independence day on July 4th. One mile every day for 38 days! I believe Lynsey and Ann are participating too!

What’s your me time? Are you in for the streak? 

5 thoughts on “Unplugged and Uncluttered

  1. Lynsey

    I’m such a bad friend! I totally forgot about it! I will be starting today and adding an extra day to the end to be sure I get my days in. How was yesterday’s run for you?

    Reply
  2. Jaime

    Good for you leaving your old job. I did the same thing about 8 years ago and I haven’t regretted it at all. Hope all is well at the new job and good luck with completing your running challenge!

    Reply
  3. Bella

    You got so much done!!! Unplugging seems increasely difficult for me, but when I can avoid distractions, I’m amazed at what I accomplish. Your post is a great reminder.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: 2012 Goals Revisited and Celebrate | Coffee With Sabrina

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

