Resignation and Change

“They always say time changes things, but you actually have to change them yourself.” — Andy Warhol

I am the kind of girl who lays her head on a pillow and is fast asleep moments later. Restless nights are not something I am used to.

Until recently.

I have been uncharacteristically unhappy for weeks, maybe even months.

I hate getting out of bed in the morning knowing I have to walk through the employee entrance and spend 8 stifling hours at work. If we can even call it work.

It’s more like a high school locker room with folks twice my age catching up on yesterday’s gossip. And old ladies who have worked their since before I was born that feel the need to lie, cheat, and steal just to earn an extra dime on their paychecks.

Nah, I am not okay with that. My beliefs on integrity and respect isn’t mutually shared among my co-workers.

I suppose commission based pay can do that to a person, but it’s not worth it to me.

The real unhappiness doesn’t even being there. It began when I was no long able to work around school. I was being forced to go to school around work. My work schedule would never match up with my actual availability. Swapping shifts with co-workers became increasingly difficult, and soon I went from working 40 hours a week to 24 hours. Mangers were no help and told me that sales and profit come first.

It’s taken me a long time to get where I am in my academic career and I can’t give that up. Especially not for this job.

I’ve cried, I’ve lost sleep, I’ve lost out on money, but I’ve thought about it, and I’ve made my decision.

Yesterday I submitted my letter of resignation, thanked the company for the opportunity to work there, and announced my last date of employment as Saturday, May 26th.

Last night I slept like a baby. I felt free. The burden of that job was lifted off my shoulders.

I am not sure where I will be working come Monday, May 28th. I have some job applications out there, but I am not stressed out about it. I am confident that everything will work itself out, and I will end up where I should be once all the dust settles.

Nine years ago today I graduated high school, and it has taken me this long to realize the importance of my college education. I won’t let a mediocre job get in the way of that, especially one that I don’t intend to make a career out of.

I am changing things.

8 thoughts on “Resignation and Change

  1. Liz

    Good for you! I worked there once too and it was much the same – even though I wasn’t commission! I’m sure something great will come your way!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Sunday’s Ketchup Celebration | Coffee With Sabrina

  3. Bella

    Good for you! That job was no good for your health. Plus, focusing on your education is the right thing to do – jobs can come abd go, but no one can ever take your education from you.It takes a lot of courage to change your life the way you have. It will be well worth it!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Another Year Has Come and Gone | Coffee With Sabrina

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

