FMM: Trigger Foods

My regular Monday post is being delayed. I woke up this morning with an urge for adventure. I left my laptop, and blogs, at home because Alex and I are heading out immediately after school today. Instead of leaving you with empty readers I decided to par-take in Kenlie’s Friend Making Monday. It’s been a while since I’ve participated and this weeks topic is one that I need to explore further. Meanwhile, my previously drafted blogs are safe at home.

Here we go… Trigger Foods!

Are there foods in your life that always seem to trigger overeating?Ā Chocolate and carbs are my worse triggers. I will eat until I can’t eat anymore. Thankfully that is a behavior I have learned to control.Ā 

If so, what are they? As I listed above. They will always be a nemesis.

When are you most likely to give into strong cravings? I work in a very stressful environment. Whenever it gets bad my first reaction is Chocolate, my second is EAT!

Are you more likely to be triggered by salty foods or sugary foods? I have never been a girl who loves salt. I will always pick sugar (chocolate).

How do you get back on track after overeating? I can’t back track, per say, but I can learn from your mistakes and habits. I start the following day with a clean and healthy breakfast. And I always try to be conscious of how much water I am drinking.

Are there any foods that you allow yourself to eat without limits? Fruits and veggies. I will snack on that endlessly throughout an afternoon. Keeps me busy, while eating things that are relatively nutritious. Honestly, I can’t recall the last time I actually did that.

Do you notice a change in your emotions while eating trigger foods? I think I am making myself “happy” or happier but in reality it’s only making it worse. When I am done eating the trigger foods I tend to have a mix of emotions. Regret, sadness, anger, and disgust. Trigger foods only make me feel better temporarily.

Do you have a strategy to keep yourself from overeating trigger foods? Yeah, I don’t keep any in the house. Since I love chocolate I will go buy one Chocolove dark chocolate bar from Whole Foods and keep it in the fridge. Every few days I will allow myself a row (3 squares in a row) after a good workout or at the end of the night. I sent all chocolate Easter candy with my mom so she can take it to her job. Outta site, outta mind!

Alright, your turn! Answer the questions on your blog and link up on Kenlie’s. Oh, and leave me a note in the comments so I can be sure to check out your answers. I’ll need something to read, besides Runner’s World, while Alex drives home tonight! šŸ˜‰

I will be back tomorrow morning with an update on training for Disney and some other good stuff!

12 thoughts on “FMM: Trigger Foods

  1. Corinthe

    Thanks for stopping by my blog for FMM! nice to meet you :). I never thought I had a chocolate craving, just a general sweets fan. Now I have discovered the evil truth: I love chocolate. It’s so devious. But I like how you strategize your chocolate intake-that’s a good way to keep it a treat and not an expectation. I like it!

    Reply
  2. Carina

    Came by from your FMM comment — will def read more about your Disney training! Very exciting! Carbs would be a tough trigger food….

    Reply
  3. Emily

    Here via FMM. I hear you on the chocolate love. My kiddo got a ton in his Easter Basket, but for some reason, it’s ME that wants to eat it. Ugh.

    Reply
  4. Lynsey

    I was late in reading this so I will have to wait and participate next week. It’s not FMT afterall. Great answers though. Carbs are a major trigger for most people.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Magic on a Monday Night | Coffee With Sabrina

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

