Healthy Balance

Getting comfortable in some PJ’s, grabbing a cold bottle of water, and sitting in front of my laptop after a long day brings me great joy. It really is the little things in life.

It’s just after 9pm and my mind is busy with a many other things I could be doing: emailing people back for an event I am coordinating, painting my toes, going out to get milk, #fitblog chat, homework, or even going to bed a little early! Instead, this quite time is good for me. Blogging is my “me” time.

A year ago I was sitting at home with too much time on my hands. Now it seems as though I can’t find a spare moment. I wouldn’t have it any other way, really. I have every inch of my plate covered and I am trying to squeeze in more where ever and when ever I can. This active, busy life suites me well.

Getting here wasn’t so easy. For a long time I was content with wasting my days away with procrastination and nothingness. I was always tired, sometimes moody, and, at times, a depressed person. My life lacked fulfillment. It lacked a healthiness and balance.

As cliché as it may sound, this year has changed me. I began to realize that I didn’t need to be so empty, that my plate didn’t need to be so empty. I have the support of a great boyfriend and I wasn’t about to let that go to waste. School started for me (again) on January 9th, I began looking for a job with more room to grow, and most recently decided to re-join a gym. I’ve filled my life with plans, activities, and the luster that every 20-something year old should have.

Just about a week ago I sent Alex a message saying we should join a gym. I wasn’t quite sure how he would react to a membership and spending money. He was just as pumped as I was and sure enough the next night after work we headed to our local Planet Fitness. We signed the paperwork, paid the fee, changed into gym clothes, and hit the treadmills running! We haven’t looked back since.

In one  weeks time Alex and I have gone from the couch couple to the active couple. Monday, for example, we hit the gym for 40 minutes in the morning before school. Almost immediately after school Alex met some buddies to play basketball. I took those 2 free hours and went back to the gym. It was a great, active day! And the trend has continued.

2012 has already become the year of starting over and second chances.

Healthy balance is ever so important with a full time job, part time school, volunteering, job searching, homework, boyfriend time, family time, and gym time. My plate is full and my “Healthy Balance of 2012” is in full sprint. One day at a time I am learning what healthy balance really means. My life is busy, but it’s also healthy, active and happy!

Oh—And food is fitting into my life the way it’s meant to: as nourishment because I am hungry, not as something to fill a void or as an emotional supplement.

One thought on “Healthy Balance

  1. Kat

    Finding the right balance of things on your plate can be so hard. I’m so glad that you’ve found a stride that works for you AND Alex. Because having a supportive partner is so important. You’ll have to keep us posted on what you’re loving!

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

