36 Weeks to Disney!

 

Yesterday I got off work shortly before Alex did. I left the mall and ventured to Wal-Mart to fill up the gas tank. I promptly reset the odometer, drove from Wal-Mart back to the mall, waited for Alex, then drove from the mall to my house. As we were stopped at a light I looked down at the odometer and exclaimed, “From Wal-Mart to work to my house is almost exactly 10 miles! I have to run that far by September 28th!”.

Alex’s response was simple. “Better you than me.”


Every day that I don’t workout makes it that much harder to start again.

All warm and cozy under the covers of my big, plush bed does not bode well for morning workouts. Neither does the prospect of working out after a long day of work and school.

I can tell myself “tomorrow” until I am blue in the face, but that won’t prepare me for a 10 mile race.

Today is when it counts.

It takes 5 weeks to make something a habit? Well, I have 36 weeks to train and prepare. 256 days until race day. I better get started!

Some of you responded to my question about posting workouts as I prepare for the race. Between work and school I have to be flexible. For that reason, posting a set training schedule ahead of time won’t be beneficial.

What I will do is post weekly workout roundups. I will detail each workout; including length, calories burned, and the occasional weigh in. My weeks will go Sunday – Saturday. I will probably publish the roundup on Sunday’s and I trust you all will keep me accountable if I don’t.

Here’s to forming a new habit. Here’s to running 10 miles.

10 thoughts on “36 Weeks to Disney!

  1. Ann @ Twelve In Twelve

    Good luck, lady! I made a TON of mistakes training for my 1/2 marathon even though I had over 6 months. The biggest mistake was not running every run scheduled. So…. log those miles!! No matter what – as long as you aren’t injured!! 🙂 Rooting for you from Minnesota!!

    Reply
  2. sarahf

    I saw a Nike ad on Pinterest that said “You said tomorrow yesterday”. Thinking of that got my butt out of bed this morning, and, man it was cold! It worked for me, maybe it will work for you too. My advice is don’t overdo it, think about your runs and don’t be tempted to get over excited and do too much. I use Nike Plus on my I Phone and it measures my distance, calories and lets me post my runs to Facebook so my friends and family can tell me how great I am. It’s awesome!

    Reply
  3. Lynsey

    I have about 45 weeks until I go to Disney! I will not be running 10 miles though. (Although it will feel like I’m walking 400.) Good luck with training. I know how hard making time for exercise is when you have life and school and everything else but I know you will do it. I am so jealous of your Disney races!

    Reply
    1. Sabrina Post author

      You will be here for the Food and Wine festival at EPCOT!! If I am still instate I will have to drive over to see you! You’ve come all this way, it’s the least I could do! 🙂

      Reply
  4. saroover

    10 miles. I am totally rooting for you, lady! You can do this! Just keep on keepin’ on and remember that when it comes to training, start small and build from there. Little by little leads up to a ton before long!

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

