Resolution: Moving

It’s been a hot topic lately. And because it’s my number one resolution, I figured I would break it down on the blog.

To me, feeling trapped is the worst feeling in the world. Still living in the town that I grew up in makes me feel trapped.

I am restless. 

Grant it, the town is ever growing and expanding. But it’s not enough. Really, there is nothing here. We don’t call it Mel-BORING for nothing. No universities, no active life, no recreation, no arts and museums to speak about. Parents love to raise their kids here. Kids can’t wait to get out.

Aside from lacking a fulfilling life while living here, I also get the drama that is my family. I’ve had enough. I want more. Frankly, I deserve more.

I am no longer growing as an individual. I’ve reached my maximum potential here but I know I have so much more to offer the world. Likewise, the world has much more to offer me.

I need to keep a few things in mind when planning this move.

Alex, first and foremost. We plan to make this venture together. His happiness at a location is equally as important as mine. After all, it’s going to be his home too. 

Second is school. We are both working on degrees at the community college here in town. (More on my college adventures in another post.) I’ve changed my degree so many times, but I think I have it pin pointed now. Alex, on the other hand, has a passion for culinary. His next step might be a culinary school with hopes of being the next top chef. Hey, I won’t complain! Anyways, finding a spot to allow us both to pursue our respective college paths.

Money!! We are two people, in school, working and trying to pay bills. Saving is going to be key for us over the next 6 months. Yes, that’s right, my time frame to move is still summer 2012. That hasn’t changed. Saving is another resolution that I am working on.

Finding the ideal metropolitan city and having everything we want local to us. Our list is long, but we think we can compromise. Whole Foods, Ikea, Dave & Busters, fro-yo shops, sports – lots of sports, seasons, arts and culture. Basically it’s everything we don’t have now.

Three metro areas topping our current list: Tampa, Boston and, of course, Minneapolis. 

I’m ready to free myself.

Resolution #1, this is the year!

9 thoughts on “Resolution: Moving

  1. Kat

    Moving is so beyond stressful. Moving in with Marcus was really one of the happiest days of my life because I didn’t have to worry about moving anymore for like…the next five years. Give Thanks. I just hope that you end up somewhere you’re happy settling together for at least a while!

    Reply
  2. Lynsey

    I am in the same town I grew up in and sometimes I wish I had left when I had a chance. Eric and I were high school sweethearts so both of our families are here and we just got comfortable. After having kids I don’t feel it’s as easy to uproot. They have their friend base and strong attachment to family here now so it’s not just us it’s affecting. I’m not really sure I have the guts to move anyway so I may just be using the kids as a crutch. 🙂 I wish we had. I’d love to be some where warmer with more to do but I also like that my kids can play outside and I don’t have to worry about them. Good luck to you. I know you’ll make the right decision. If you do Mn you will be closer to me!

    Reply
    1. Sabrina Post author

      It is a tough decision. Most of his family is here, but not all. My brother’s both left and are an hour or so away, near Orlando. I’ve always been the girl who likes to travel and explore. If it’s Mm, we will have to meet up! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Elle

    Sabrina I am so happy for you! You sound like you have a great plan, and you sound like you’re really enjoying spending time with the boy and planning for your future. The two of you will have so much fun in a city, I know it. And way to go landing a chef! Talk about a winner! I’d be his food guinea pig any day!

    Reply
  4. Café Moka

    Oh girl, I”m so there too. I am in the same town I grew up in, a small town far away from everything I like! (I came back last year, after being away for 6.5 years. My boyfriend found a job here.) And I want to move so bad. I have to be patient, I guess.

    Hope you will find a place that both of you will love!!!

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

