Did You Know?

I am a big fan of getting out of my small town and going on adventures. I am advocate of continued learning because I don’t know everything. I am also a fan of dates that are outside of the box.

My boyfriend normally leaves the planning to me. Even if we just go to a movie. Last Friday our adventure lead us to a place neither of us had been since we were kids. The Orlando Science Center!

OSC

I felt like a little bit of creeper because there were so many little kids with their moms or on a school field trip. We were the lone 20-something year olds just hanging out. Luckily, we arrived after lunch so many of the field trips were winding down.

A few things I learned and did you know?

  • The universe contains over 100 billion galaxies.
  • Giraffes only sleep for about 20 minutes in a 24 hour period. And they never lie down.
  • Fleas can jump 150 times their own body length and 80 times their height.
  • A cat has at least 20 sets of muscles in each ear.
  • Camels, Penguins and Alligators all have 3 eyelids in each eye!
  • Honey is the only food that doesn’t spoil.
  • A sneeze can exceed the speed of 100 miles per hour.
  • Astronauts can not belch – there is no gravity to separate gas from liquid in their stomach.
  • There are about 60,000 miles of blood vessels in the human body.
  • A falling rain drop can hit you at speeds as fast as 18 miles per hour. 

Those are just a few of the interesting facts I learned. Alex and I had a lot of fun goofy off with the toys and all the hands on activities. We made our own weather forecast: I had a blizzard in Orlando, Alex chose tornadoes. After the meteorologist predicted tornadoes, we stepped inside the hurricane tunnel. Finally, I let him beat me in a giant game of Operation, maybe he should be a Doctor?

Drop Box8

When I was younger, one of my favorite things about the science center was the shows in the CineDome. I decided we should take in the Holiday Laser Light show! We saw the dinosaur exhibit, a new guitar exhibit and some real live Florida Alligators.

Drop Box9

 

Once our Did You Know adventure wrapped up, we took a leisurely stroll around the near by Lake Eola, which is in the heart of beautiful Downtown Orlando! 

Drop Box10

Our evening ended with dinner, shopping and games!

Drop Box11

 

 

Do you enjoy visiting places, like the science center, where you can learn but have fun at the same time?
3 thoughts on “Did You Know?

  1. Kat

    I definitely have a couple of museums on my 25 by 25 list. I’ve been meaning to go for ages, but it just hasn’t been happening. Hence the list. So fun!

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

