The One Where My Pants Wouldn’t Button

By now it’s no secret that I gained back a lot of weight. For the last month I have been actively fighting to right the wrongs of the past few months. Despite a gradual decline on the scale, it has become clear that I am not fighting hard enough.

Like clock work almost every morning I get up, take care of business, and step on the scale. Assuming I look down to see a number that is less than or equal to the previous weigh in, then all is well for the day.  And that is where my reality gets skewed.

One recent morning I stepped on the scale, took a deep breathe before looking down, and then let out a sigh of relief when I saw a one pound loss from the previous week. I pulled my favorite jeans from the closet and began to slip them on. Except they didn’t “slip” on with ease.

Previously these jeans had been a little tight, but I am beginning to think I just didn’t want to accept that the jeans were actually getting tighter all along. I pulled the zipper up, left the button undone, and laced a belt on so you couldn’t tell the button was open. Whoa, big blow to my ego and confidence. 

I bought these jeans in June. Size 16 and a wee bit big. Big enough that a belt was necessary. The 14’s were a wee bit too tight. In hindsight, I should have bought 14’s to keep the motivation going but I knew my closet was already stocked with size 12 and size 14’s. I needed a pair for the here and now.

Here I am, 6 months since I first bought the jeans, wearing a belt with my jeans again. It’s not a feel good moment when you need to lace on a belt for the wrong reasons.

I’ve got to fight harder. The girl in the mirror told me to.

Short term goal: wearing a belt for the right reasons, fitting into my 14’s and getting rid of the 16’s forever!

6 thoughts on “The One Where My Pants Wouldn’t Button

  1. Becky

    Been there. My scale has been fluctuating up and down 3 pounds over the last few months, but my pants keep getting tighter and tighter. Not the direction I want to be headed.

    You can totally do this! I’m so glad you are back to blogging!

    Reply
  2. Lynsey

    You can do it! It’s a hard time to start but you know what, there’s always going to be something. You just have to dive in and get your head in the game. Losing a pound in a week is great. Much better than gaining a pound. It’s so easy to be hard on ourselves when the scale doesn’t move faster. Just keep at it!

    Reply
  3. Kris

    I’m with you! For me it is work pants – it’s winter now, and because I’ve put on 3-5 pounds in the waist/hips, all but two pairs of my pants are too tight to wear long underwear under…. and it’s too cold not to! I’ve been at “goal” (+/- 5 pounds) for 18 months… but that +5 is killing me right now!

    Good luck, it’s hard. 😦

    Reply
  4. Kat

    Seriously, my pants are a WAY better motivator than the mirror or the scale because they tell the truth in an obvious, yet, less painful (at least for me) way. If you feel like the battle is too hard, just remember that we’re all fighting alongside you.

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

