Getting Organized

Every year I set the lofty goal to get my life organized. By organized I mean: keep up with my planner, my to-do lists, my goals, and actually have a budget laid out. Every year my life ends up being a disorganized mess.

Now, for me, this is hard to believe because I pride myself in being clean and orderly. So how can my life plans be in such disarray?

Once again, back in January, I set a goal to get more organized this year. I am just now getting around to that, but I guess it’s okay because the year isn’t quite over. I have one more month left to form good habits that I can carry with me into the new year, when I set a new goal.

A few weeks ago I was playing around on Google and stumbled upon the Google calendar. I am almost certain that I might be the last person on Earth to utilize this handy tool. (If I am not the last, please let me know so I don’t feel so alone.)

I started plugging upcoming events in and color coding everything. Then I added my work schedule and discovered I could add Alex’s work schedule. Even better, I could SHARE certain categories from my calendar WITH ALEX! Google will sync my calendar to his! Ahh! Talk about an excited girl! We no longer have to play the guessing game to see who works when. I got Alex on board and I am in calendar happy land! 

There is also a handy task list too! Everything in one convenient place! Chores, errands, work, workouts and dates all automatically synced to my phone! I am in love!

gcalendar

I started to wonder what else I could have accomplished this year had I known about this useful tool before.

Sometimes I am real clueless!  Winking smile

Today I cleaned out my email inbox’s. 4000 plus emails, gone! I had junk dating back over 11 years. Eleven years!! Yeah, you are probably wondering “What the heck?!”. Don’t worry, I am too! But those unwanted emails are forever gone!

That budget I wanted to have laid out to help me save money, that never happened either. Until today.

You see, I have a very strong wanting for a MacBook Pro. It’s pricey, but it’s everything I want and will be very beneficial when I return to school this January. With a Mac on my mind I started searching the web. Once again, I stumbled upon something magical and I am wondering if I have been living under a rock forever.

Mint.com! It links to my bank accounts, credit cards, virtually EVERYTHING! It’s amazing I tell you! Mint determined I should have about $300 a month left over, according to current spending habits. Honestly, I don’t know where those $300 dollars are going, because I don’t see it!

I feel like I am finally gaining momentum on this goal. And it feels good! Better late than never, right?

Here’s to hoping that I can carry this momentum into 2012. I can be a lot more productive, and maybe even a little richer!

Since I’ve clearly been living under a rock, please share with me some of your most useful tools, apps or ticks for budgeting and staying organized.
6 thoughts on “Getting Organized

  1. Erin

    Hahahahaha ohhhh Sabrina. My friends and I have been using Google Calendar for years now to schedule plans with each other! It really is a great tool. However I’m confident you can’t be the last to discover it.

    Reply
  2. Misty

    We use iCal now since everyone has an iSomething. 🙂 But yes, it is the same benefit as Google Calendar.

    I’m curious to see what you think of mint.com. We have an account but I’ve never really figured out the benefit.

    Reply
  3. Melissa

    I checked out google calendar once and then forgot to go back! Thanks for bringing it back up, im sure it will help me with my goal this year of being more organized. Also, thanks for the financial tip! I’m headed to mint.com right now to check it out!

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

