Making The Plan: Food

I like plans. I like schedules. I especially like organization.

Why should that be any different when it comes to losing weight?

When I signed back up for MyFitnessPal I went with a less aggressive plan: lost one pound per week. In return I was given a calorie target of 1680 per day.

I’ve spent today (Sunday) working out a plan for just my diet. I explored different recourses on Dietician.com. Here is what I now know:

  • To lose one pound a week (given my normal, daily activities) my calorie target is between 1580-1680. The variation comes from Dietician.com and MyFitnessPal
  • To be more aggressive and lose 2 pounds a week (given my normal, daily activities) my calorie target is right at 1200.

I know these numbers are good choices for me. They are roughly the same as the ones my doctor suggested back in February. I’ve gained 10 pounds since that day with the doctor, so it is imperative I implement this plan, starting now. 

With the help of Dietician.com, I’ve broken it down by meal and given myself some flexibility.

  • Breakfast: 382 – 413
  • Lunch: 362 – 560
  • Dinner: 397- 538
  • Snack: 62 – 132

Lot of fruits, vegetables, good fats, lean meat, dairy and whole grain starches.

Of course, no diet is complete without exercise. That will be the next part of the plan.

Having these numbers broken down and laid out before me, really gives me peace and confidence. I actually know what I am doing, and what I have to do in order to be successful.

I really love Dietician.com because if you do the HELP Healthy Eating For Life Plan®, it breaks down by food group and how many servings you should have, per meal, from that food group. Of course, you can customize it to your own eating habits.

If you are counting or watching calories, how did you get that target number?
4 thoughts on “Making The Plan: Food

    1. Sabrina Post author

      I love eating chicken sausages, hummus & chips, and sometimes I make my own chicken salad. But I always fall back on a healthy salad or sandwich once or twice.

      Reply
  1. Ann

    I had a calorie test done at my gym that gave me a VERY accurate number of how many calories I burn. For those who can’t get the test done, I recommend googling “how many calories should I eat in one day?” and then taking the average of 3 or 4 sites. Since they will all say something different, it’s best to do your research and then adjust as needed. Good luck, lady!

    Reply
  2. Michelle @ Michelle Does Germany

    I stopped counting calories. Instead, I made a ‘rule’ that every meal has to have 2 servings of veggies and I have to eat 2 pieces of fruit everyday. That helps me stay on track because 2 servings of veggies plus meat or whatever else will get me full and I tend to snack less

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

