I Called In Sick!

Yesterday, I was scheduled to work. Instead, I called in sick. No, I wasn’t really sick.

I can’t post anything about yesterday (Wednesday) on Facebook, but I’ll take the risk of telling it here.

I don’t love my job. No, let’s be real, I pretty much hate my current work situation. It sucks the life out of me and has turned into a hardship more than anything. I’ve been known to come home and cry after a shift because I am so unhappy. I had such a rough day on Tuesday that I thought the only thing that could possibly make my day better was a cupcake.

Yesterday’s sick day was sort of unplanned. Tuesday night I kept saying I didn’t want to go to work on Wednesday. I just didn’t want to and would be totally ok if I never had to go back again. On a whim Alex suggested we go find me some happiness. And what better place to do that than the Happiest Place on Earth!

DISNEY! Open-mouthed smile

I called work to take my sick at 7:30am. By 9:30am we were on the road and arrived at Downtown Disney just before 11am.

Drop Box2

It was a gorgeous day! A little hot out in the direct sunlight, but overall was picture perfect. And Downtown Disney was the perfect place to spend the day.  Downtown Disney is a strip of shops, clubs, interactive activates, shows, a movie theater, and restaurants with Disney charm!

Drop Box3

Drop Box5 

Throughout the day I would say things like “So, what should I do about work?”.  The resounding answer was that I need to make a change. I was happiest in my pervious job where I had unlimited creativity and didn’t have to work in such a strict retail setting. By the end of the day we decided I need to start looking for a new job. Hopefully I can make it through the holiday season and then move into something new. It does no one any good for me to be so unhappy in my job. Not good for me, for Alex, for my family or for the employer! It’s time to make the change. It is a hard step for me to take, but having clarity is the best feeling in the world.

Aside from gaining clarity about my work situation, I saw a few runners yesterday. I’m sure they were pacing the path for an upcoming Disney Marathon or Half Marathon. One day that will be me too. One day! One day I will also be the recipient of this Dri-Fit shirt.

Drop Box6

I saw them for sale in one of the stores. I could have bought one for the low cost of $24.95, or I could put the effort into training and actually finish a race. I decided that running an actual Disney race will give me so much more satisfaction, plus I get a cool medal too!

I’ll leave you with one last gem from the day I Called In Sick…

Drop Box7

I was so ecstatic when we got these in our fortune cookies. I could tell Alex was pretty stoked too. If you have read our story, you can see just how unexpected our relationship was.

Do you call in sick when your not really sick?
What do you think of fortune cookies?

5 thoughts on “I Called In Sick!

  1. Lynsey

    I’ve been struggling in my job for quite some time. I’m almost done with school and hoping something comes up quick so I don’t have to be here forever. I’m just glad for the pay check so I come in and put in my time. That’s about all.

    As for the fortune cookies, I think they are great! Take them and run!

    My hubby and I work together so a few times we’ve said screw it and both called in to just hang out. Sometimes we have things that actually have to get done, sometimes we find something to do and other times we just hang out at home doing nothing. I feel the need for one of those days but I have to save my vacation for when we go to San Fran next month,

    Oh, and jealous you can just go to Disney for the day. We are going back to WDW in 2012 and I’m already super excited.

    Reply
  2. cookie

    I don’t think I ever called in sick when I wasn’t. At least I can’t remember, may once. I would feel guilty. Even if you don’t like your job, you’re getting paid for it, so I would feel really bad. But I have to admit, I thought about it. Especially since I quit, it’s really hard to go work two more months if you know, you’re starting somewhere (hopefully) better soon.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Five (random) Things Friday | Coffee With Sabrina

  4. Samien

    I’m a firm believer in using sick days for mental health days as well. I hated my last job, would call in sick, be late to work, bad attitude… finally found the job I have now and it absolutely made a difference in me. I will keep sending you good vibes that you’ll find a great job and enjoy going to work.

    Fortune cookies… did you end it with, “in bed”? 😉

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Silk Milk | Coffee With Sabrina

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

