Food Hit Me In The Face!

Food didn’t literally hit me in the face, although, I probably would have received the message a little sooner!

I have been down this road before, and I know many of you can relate, but here’s my most recent story:

Most days I pack a lunch for work that estimates around 400-450 calories. (Read: salad or half a sandwich, hand full of nuts, and some fruit) There are some days that I just don’t want the lunch that I packed.

Some work days are so great that I want to celebrate with a delicious, well deserved, lunch or meal after work. This delicious, well deserved, meal normally doesn’t mean healthy.

There, I said it, not a healthy meal.

On the other hand, some work days are pretty bad and I want to wallow with a meal that is definitely not healthy. And this is where the food starts to hit me in the face.

Saturday was anything by easy at work. Keeping up with sales, merchandising the floor, and working with some not-so-easy-to-deal-with employees was frustrating. I had a headache before noon. I needed something to ease the stress and calm me down.

FOOD! 

I got a text from my boyfriend asking if I wanted to meet for lunch. “Absolutely!” I quickly replied. I also told him that I had actually packed a lunch, but I wasn’t in the mood for it. When we met for lunch he kindly asked what I was in the mood for. “COMFORT FOOD!

My idea of comfort food would have been Cracker Barrel or IHop. His idea of comfort food is the Chinese buffet, to which I will always object, but you didn’t hear me object on this particular day. I didn’t complain as I piled my plate full. I didn’t complain as I ate away my frustrations. And I didn’t complain as I went back for seconds.

It wasn’t until we were leaving the restaurant and I looked at the buffet rows that the food hit me int the face. Point blank, I realized how I have been using food. I eat to cheer myself up. I eat to calm myself down. I eat to fill the void. I eat to celebrate.

I, like some of you, eat my feelings.

My plan: continue to acknowledge this habit, be mindful of how I feel, the food I am craving to eat, and take it one bite at a time.

One thought on “Food Hit Me In The Face!

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

