It’s Alright Again

Yeah, sometimes you gotta lose ’til you win
It’s alright, It’s alright, It’s alright
It’ll be alright again, I am okay.
– Sugarland

There were days, not so long ago, that I wondered if times like this would ever come again. I wondered if I would be “stuck” forever. I wondered if I would “lose” forever. I wanted to feel something. I wanted to have a sense of urgency. I wanted to be able to put one foot in front of the other. I wanted to feel like myself. I wanted everything to be alright again.

This week I really started to feel alright again. I wanted to do things, and not just because I needed to. I found the urgency, and desire, to be a better me.

I know it’s alright again because…

I still have some finalizing to do, but I am a registered college student once again. I am anxious and ready to finish what I started, a long time ago. My Bachelors is the one thing I always regret not finishing, but that’s changing this time around.

I know it’s alright again because…

After a few hours of pinning I came across a picture. Immediately I knew I needed to Dance again. Yes, classical music and ballet shoes are in my future, again. 🙂 Only 10 years since I last put on a pair of dance shoes. Talk about an anxious girl!

I know it’s alright again because…

I have learned valuable lessons. For instance, I learned that we make our own luck and we create our own futures. As if I didn’t know that before, going in and out of this “funk” has helped to cement that.

I know it’s alright again because…

I feel beautiful again. Yesterday I made a last-minute hair appt and took some time to pamper myself. Goodbye to old, yucky summer hair and hello to healthy, beautiful winter hair. The cut, color, and conditioning was very much-needed. And feeling beautiful is a beautiful thing.

I know it’s alright again because…

I have laced up my running shoes a few times this week and got some moderate exercise. I am petitioning some friends to run a Turkey Day 5k. And I am being mindful about my diet. All things I wasn’t so conscious about during the previous months.

I know it’s alright again because…

I know where my happiness comes from and I am taking small steps to make my big dreams reality again.

And I am hopeful it’s alright again because…

I want to mend and rebuild the relationships that have been damaged over the last few months. Those relationships mean more to me than I will even be able to explain, although I didn’t always show it. I pray that they can be mended because they are the final key to everything being alright again.

I gotta tell ya, taking control of my life has never felt so right. This week is not quite over yet, but I am calling it a success. I feel alright. I feel productive. I feel like I am worth it. I feel like I am going to change the world. Most of all, I feel like myself again!

3 thoughts on “It’s Alright Again

  1. Becky

    I’m so glad you are feeling better!! And I’m most excited that you are going to dance again! The photo you shared a long time ago of you on the beach dancing is so beautiful and I think about it often. Can’t wait for you to get back at it!

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

