Goals: Half Point Check Up & July

We normally set goals to make ourselves better or to get us where we want to be. Some of us like big lofty goals, while others like to make smaller ones and take baby steps. 

I am a very goal oriented person. When someone else sets the goal for me that is! At work and in school I am always on point. I know right where I am, or right where I need to be. Always! But I often find myself struggling with meeting self set goals. Why can’t I also accomplish the personal goals that I set for myself? That is where I need work.

I want to recap and review the goals I set for myself this year. How am I doing? 

Goals for 2011:

  • Commit to school and being the student I know I can be.I have one class lined up to take this fall, and I am hoping to add two more before classes start.
  • Read a variety of books. With my new Nook Color that has been easy!
  • Be healthier: Food and Exercise. I am struggling a bit, still trying to find balance. 
  • Learn to run & commit myself to the training. Maybe run a race or two! I actually ran a 5k! Remember, Memorial Weekend? YAY!
  • Enjoy my days a single woman. Live life to the fullest! Carpe Diem! – I am doing this more than ever before. And this will be covered on it’s own post. 
  • Get more organized. – I am getting better, but not as perfect as I’d like. 
  • Save money! Money does go from checking to savings every week. But it doesn’t always remain there as things come up. Guess it’s a good thing to have savings!
  • Get out of this town and explore the world! I’ve been to Minnesota twice and I have taken a few in-state trips. Work really puts a damper on this one sometimes.
  • Take a writing and photography class. The one class I am already set for is photography! If it works with my schedule I hope to add creative writing too.
  • Get serious with my Italian. Practice with my mom. I haven’t practiced with my mom, but I do practice with my niece and nephew as they learn the language. And I have regular Skype dates with the family in Italy. 
All in all, not too bad. I didn’t set any unattainable goals for myself, I just need to make them a priority. Especially with the be healthier goal. I am going to make that my focus in July.

July Goals:
 
  • Eat lots of color everyday. Fruits and veggies.
  • C25K! I can run again!
  • Learn how to work/use my Garmin HRM.  
  • More blogs with more pictures. Everyone likes pictures!
What kind of goal setter are you? How often do you set them?
Share a goal you are working towards! 

Happy Canada Day to all my friends to the north! I hope everyone here has a happy and safe 4th of July weekend!
Any fun weekend plans? I have to work, so please dish! 
5 thoughts on “Goals: Half Point Check Up & July

  1. Café Moka

    You have great goals for July and I think they are realistic!
    My current goal is to finish my thesis before July 17th! I know I can do it, I just have to sit down and write! I’m almost done!

    Have a great weekend girl!

    Reply
  2. krisgetshealthy

    Yay(!!) for goal setting and resetting, It is almost time for me to reevaluate my goals for the year. Time to get focused, eyes on the prize… life isnt going to slow down and give me a chance to hop on to the path I want to change to so I am going to have to leap then look.

    Enjoy your weekend!!! Miss you like crazy!

    Reply
  3. fatgirlwearingthin

    Sabrina, I wish I had the answer for that one. I have tried and tried to set goals for myself – specific ones – but they always end up being very vague. For example, regarding C25K. I knew that I wanted to start, so I did. I didn’t allow myself to set any goal further than that. Just start. And I did work up to mid-week 7 (25 minutes without stopping) but then something got into the way and I quit. I will eventually pick up where I left off (or a week or so back, realistically) but I try not to stress about it too much. I figure, give it all you’ve got and you’ll get to where you need to be. Maybe I’m lacking that specific ‘drive’ that other people seem to have? Who knows. Either way, I think these goals you’ve set for yourself are fantastic and if you achieve half of them, you should be very proud!

    Reply
  4. Shelia

    I like to set goals for myself but it seems I never complete them. I start off strong and then just dwindle down and don’t complete them. Your goals are attainable, great idea to “revisit” them and see where you are at. Sometimes you don’t realize how far you have come when you are looking at the ” final prize”.and not everything that you have done to lead up to that. Good job!!

    Reply
  5. StartingAt500Pounds

    I set goals when I realize I am not working towards what matters most to me. There are so many things I want to achieve and so many attributes I want to embody, I have to focus on a maximum of 4 goals at a time. There are always back burner items but without focus you end up with a lot of trying and not a lot of achieving. I set a new goal only when I have accomplished 1 of the 4 goals or if I decide that there is something more important so I swap out a goal.

    My biggest goal is to lose 275 pounds. I am 145 pounds on my way to that goal and don’t plan on slowing down.

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

