Going Public

… with my blog! (I had a super awesome post written, but being the awesome person that I am I deleted it instead of hitting publish.) 

When I first started writing I didn’t want anyone “real” to see my blog. Partly because I was ashamed of the topics I was writing about. A little because I didn’t have confidence in my own writing/blogging abilities. And a lot because I didn’t want to fall victim of ridicule.

I guess I should have thought about those things before I decided to write a blog.

I was quite comfortable in my blogging community. Everything I wrote was out there for the whole world to see. (The inter-web is a powerful thing.) I had made a mix of real life friends and virtual friends (whom I’d still love to meet in real life). It was then that my worst fear about blogging had come true. I immediately moved from blogger to WordPress, blocked everyone on twitter, and made everything private. I closed myself off.

I am still baffled by the evil in this world, but the good must out weight the bad! It was that realization that leads me here today. People will always talk. People won’t always like me, or my writing. People are entitled to their opinions. Some people are just mean. It comes with the territory when you put yourself out on the internet. I don’t want to hide anymore.

With the remodel and name change of blog, I decided it was time to come out of hiding. Once again my blog and tweets are public. I’ve started to share the my blog with some of my hometown friends. It’s a leap of faith, but I know I am making the right choice.

I welcome the opportunity to write with freedom instead of the chains of fear.

Do you share your blog with others?
Do you have a fear about writing for all the inter-web to see? 

Next up! What my future blogs will look like!

8 thoughts on “Going Public

  1. Erin

    Sabrina, I just got caught up with everything that I’ve missed with you – That bullying stuff is just absolutely horrifying and NOT COOL. But, in the words of Dr. Seuss – “Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.”

    I don’t mind 🙂

    I’m glad to see you’re back into it with the blog makeover….sometimes a fresh start is all we need!

    Reply
  2. Syl

    Sabrina, you went through something horrible, and you have every reason to be skeptical. But I think it’s great that you are able to pick up and move on and not let this defy who you are.
    Love the new blog and looking forward to following you!

    Reply
  3. Jen Hendrickson

    Hey Sabrina – Love the new look and feel of the blog. I am looking forward to seeing what else you have in store! I am proud of you for coming back out of the shadow – you are an awesome woman and the world is going to benefit from hearing your voice!

    Reply
  4. Jaime

    I do not share my blog with anyone, so I respect and admire anyone who does! I use other people’s blogs for inspiration and motivation (I found yours through Elle’s comments section), but never felt comfortable enough to share my own – maybe one day! In the meantime, thank you for sharing your thoughts and feelings! Take care!

    Reply
  5. krisgetshealthy

    As you know I opened up about my blog to some people in my real life only to find them not supportive of it. I am not ashamed to put most of my struggles out in public view. I still hold a few of the face cards back against my chest. Not everything needs to be public domain.
    Before I started blogging at my site now I had a livejournal, its still there, it contains bits and pieces of more than 11 years of my life. It is locked up as friends only, but I shared a lot there too.
    I think it helps me to process things and I think it helps others to see they are not alone and makes their (okay i cant think of the right word here) inward process of reflection and growth a bit more guided.
    I am glad to see you stepping back out into the world. Bold and beautiful you are young one! Kick down the door! #RAWR!!!

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

