In My Tummy!

If that title didn’t get your attention, I don’t know what would?!
(Blogger was not cooperating with me when I tried to upload photos that were edited. A lot of times I still forget to take food pictures & most of these are not the best quality. )

 By the time most of you read this, I will be done with my 19th day of Lent. 
19 days of being a vegetarian and 19 days of no soda!
This is the blog everyone has been asking / waiting for. This blog is dedicated to all things that are yummy in my tummy while learning to be a vegetarian.

Okay… so this is how I normally start my day. One combination or another.

As I had said in a previous post, the last two weeks of my life have been very busy and on the go. Lots of eating out, which meant a lot of soups, salads, and pastas. I didn’t take many pictures of those meals, but here is what some of my at home lunches and dinner look like…

Can you tell I love hard boiled eggs, black beans, onions and peppers?
I mix in black beans, and peppers to my hard boiled egg. 

Actually I mix them into any food I can!

Now that my travel has been minimized, I went grocery shopping.
Here is a peek into what I bought…

I make several trips to the grocery store every week for fresh fruit and veggies (fresh veggies not pictured) and for milk and Trop 50 Orange Juice (also not pictured). 

 Okay… on to my new “creations” that I made this weekend and tweeted about.

The first one is my veggie version of a sushi roll!
About half cup of Onions, peppers, and blacks (more or less to suite you), one laughing cow cheese wegde, and a Flat Out Wrap.

 A whole roll is approximately: 203 calories, 16g of protein and 5g of fat.

The next one is a twist on PB&J.
approximately 3 tbsp of White Chocolate Wonderful, 1 cup of chopped strawberries and one Flat Out wrap.

A whole roll is approximately: 204 calories, 19g protein, and 24g of fat.

The whole plate is just over 600 calories. And is a perfect amount to split between two people.

And last… I went to a health food store in my area to look for a protein shake or supplement to help me get more protein into my daily diet. After talking to the store owner, she suggested that I look into this…

It’s only 100 calories if added to water. And it has 18g of protein. Add it to my Fat Free milk and it’s 190 calories with 27g of protein! I love it! Their website has lots of cool recipes for shakes. I made the ICED CARAMEL MOCHA PROTEIN LATTE, except I made a few tweaks. I used my fat free milk, and I did not use caramel syrup. Instead I made coffee with Starbucks Natural Fusion Caramel, then cooled it for this particular shake.

 From now on I will be better at taking food pictures and now that I am not so busy with travel (and life!) I will get creative with food recipes.

THE END!

10 thoughts on “In My Tummy!

  1. Sarah

    Okay, so seriously, you should put a warning on this entry that you will get hungry by the end of it..

    So thanks.. 😉

    So glad that you have found what works for you.. and honestly, it doesn't seem like it's been 19 days already.. I'm so glad that you are doing so well.. yay!!

    Reply
  2. krisgetshealthy.com

    I echo Laura, you are doing awesome babes! You got this!!

    I have that PB in my pantry… seriously I have some sort of nut-butter addiction. I have 6 different kinds of nut butters that are mine in the pantry. I have to finish off one before I am allowed to buy the latest one I saw at Target… “Almond Cashew Peanut Butter” Hello OMG Must Have finish off jar of something soon please!!!!! I can only imagine how good it is.

    Oh for oatmeal you should see if you can find OatFit, they have a 100 calorie oatmeal that is really good, it wont need sweetner or anything (already sweetned) and has flax in it! Super yummy!

    Reply
  3. Amy

    I usually don't comment this much but my husband and I are doing the veggie thing for lent too! I have cheated once because I wasn't even thinking about it before the meat hit my mouth. If you want another good recipe, I made Vegan Black Bean soup (http://destroyingdeadends.blogspot.com/2011/03/vegan-black-bean-soup.html) on Sunday. It's pretty yummy if you are looking for something warm. I made a big batch and froze some for those days I felt too lazy to make something for lunch before work.

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

