Almost Veg Time

Happy Monday!
So, remember one of my goals for March was to walk a mile a day? 
It’s a very attainable goal. And I am rocking it!
Over the last 7 days I have walked a mile, or just over, everyday. I can complete the mile in about 16 – 18 minutes. Depending how hard I push myself. Today I realized I can share my cardio workouts with Twitter from the app on my phone! I will be tweeting my cardio everyday, and if I don’t you can keep accountable and honest. @Sabrina_Alex
The start of my Lenten Observance is just two days away! 
Yesterday I was have a great vegetarian day. Veggie Omellet for breakfast, Amy’s Vegetarian Shepherd’s Pie for lunch, and a few pita chips with a bit of spinach dip as a snack. Then my parents called and asked if I wanted to go to Outback Steakhouse with them. HECK YEAH! Same thing happened on Saturday. I had an all veggie day, until I went to my parents for dinner. My dad made his BBQ Hamburgers. 
I started celebrating Fat Tuesday (Mardi Gras) this weekend. I enjoyed it, but it wasn’t so hard to say good-bye and let go of the thought of eating meat. I will admit, today I might splurge and have lunch at Chick Fila.
One last time.
A lot of people have asked me about going vegetarian.
First, going vegetarian has been on my mind since I was in high school. We watched a documentary and it really turned my stomach. But I was young and impressionable by my friends, and went on with life as usual. Four years later, my oldest friend was in that same class, watching that same documentary. He went home that afternoon and was immediately a vegetarian. He has been living as one for almost 5 years now. 
I have spent many of my visits with him eating as a vegetarian, and learning a few different recipes. I have a meatless day about once a week, all on my own.  Some days I don’t eat meat until dinner, and that is normally a small portion. After reading Eating Animals I was reminded of all the reasons why I want to give more of an effort to going vegetarian. 
If not now, when?
Second, I have not been able to eat seafood since I was a little girl. I have allergies to all of it, on different levels depending on the type. So I know I will not be missing seafood! 
Lastly, for the last year I have been buying a lot of organic foods and whole foods. I spend the extra money because I like it. With that said, I will not be giving up the dairy. Cheese, eggs, milk, etc. I will continue to buy those items organically. I am only giving up MEAT so, lacto-ovo-vegetarian? Right? People who do not eat beef, pork, poultry, fish, shellfish or animal flesh of any kind, but do eat eggs and dairy products are lacto-ovo vegetarians. According the the dictionary.
Well, I am off to make a grocery list and begin some meal planning. If you have a vegetarian recipe you would like to share, I will welcome them all!
8 thoughts on “Almost Veg Time

  1. Sarah

    Sounds great! I don't think I could be a veg. but I also don't need meat everyday. I think if I wasn't married to my husband that needs meat at every dinner meal I would only consume it a couple times a week if that.

    Reply
  2. Sarah

    I am so proud of you.. taking charge like this is amazing, and you will do fabulous with it.. your family will follow your lead, and hopefully you'll find ways to make your dad's BBQ burgers vegan-friendly.. 🙂

    I'm behind ya 100%..

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

