Salad Help

Hello again, my beautiful friends! 
Thanks again for your continued support. Ya’ll are freakin awesome!

Since my last blog post I have been busy.

Busy:

Reflecting on the reality of my weight and lifestyle. 
Battling my emotions of the situation and my tendency for emotional eating. 
Dissecting my food journal.

Oh, and making sure I get 30 minutes of activity a day. 

I am finally beginning to grasp and understand what a real lifestyle change this is. 

It’s a lifestyle makeover!

I am giving my best efforts to cut out unnecessary foods, stay within my calorie goals and make sure I get all the necessary servings of fruits and vegetables.

How do you feel about salads for lunch or dinner?  

I make them at home using toppings and dressings of my choice. I was successful with salads for lunch in the past, even lost a few pounds. But I got bored with them. 

So I am going to ask you:

What are your favorite salads to make at home??
 Give me what you got! I need some salad time inspirations!

Let me clarify: No, salads are not ALL I am eating. 

Just lunch or dinner a few times a week. 

And just a fun fact, this is what I tweeted earlier: 

Can’t write my blog because I am distracted by @Regis_and_Kelly. I apologize in advance if my blog today makes less sense than usual.

8 thoughts on “Salad Help

  1. Ann

    I like making “greek”-style salads with olives, banana peppers, fetta, and lots of fresh veggies – tomatoes, cucumers, etc. I add some fat-free italian or balsamic dressing. Great job with the review of a “lifestyle” makeover – I'm so glad you are realizing the steps it will take to live a healthy, happy life.

    Reply
  2. Misty

    I love to add fruit and nuts and use something like a balsamic or poppyseed dressing instead ….you have to be careful though because depending on what fruit you get especially dried fruit can add a lot of calories
    there is a restaurant here that has a signature salad that i could latterly lick the bowl or dive in its so good but I was very sad when i finally looked up the entire calorie count with dressing for it and it topped out at around 1100 😦 (thankfully this was for the full size…the half size is more than enough!) so even for half I have to now save it for heavy workout days

    It has all of these yummy things in it:
    mixed greens with mandarin oranges, strawberries, dried cranberries, raisins, pineapple, pecans and gorgonzola cheese tossed with our poppy seed dressing and croutons

    Reply
  3. Courtney

    I am currently big into mixed greens, chopped apple (or pear – either of these works, really), cheese (I cut up a mini Babybel cheese for portion control), walnuts, and Balsamic vinaigrette.

    Reply
  4. LeAnna

    I absolutely love what I call my Chinese salad. It isn't really Chinese but for some reason that's what I call it. It is basically raw cabbage shredded, raw broccoli chopped super small, wonton noodles (I have been leaving these out lately to cut out the carbs), boiled/grilled chicken breast, poppie seeds, and Kraft Toasted Asian Sesame dressing. It is soooooo yummy. I make it ahead of time and mix in the dressing and let it set in the fridge over night.

    Reply
  5. Quix

    I like salads! We frequently lunch at a soup and salad bar (and stay away from the pasta and pizza and ice creams). Some of my faves are buffalo chicken (chicken doused in franks hot sauce, blue cheese, olives, bacos, cucumbers, celery, shredded carrots, tomatoes, onions w/lite ranch) and taco salad (lean ground beef or chicken, olives, onions, tomatoes, cilantro, salsa, avocados and either lite ranch or sour cream). Greek is always a great standby too!

    Reply
  6. ShortSkirts

    I love salads. My newest favorite one, is romaine lettuce, red peppers, red onions, yellow banana peppers, chickpeas, and a little feta cheese. Top with some balsamic dressing and I'm in heaven. mmmm

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

