Weigh In Time

“The secret of getting ahead is getting started. The secret of getting started is breaking your complex, overwhelming tasks into small manageable tasks, then starting on the first one.”
Mark Twain

Gosh, it’s that time again. Weigh In Day. Seems like these weeks are just flying by! 

Before I get to my weigh in there are some other things…  
Am I losing you?: I know I haven’t accomplished anything with my weight loss. I don’t have any awesome workout secrets to share. I wish I could come here every week and report some great news, secret or victory. And I feel like I am always talking in circles. 
Yeah? 
Please, don’t give up on me yet! 

Fall Colors:  Today is December 15th. Half way through the month. 6 days before winter officially begins. Check out what I finally saw in my front yard yesterday! 




Cookies: I just got rid of the M&M’s in my house and look what ended up in my hands last night. Happy Holidays right to my stomach, hips, thighs, and butt!

 



Weigh In and thoughts: Okay, it’s finally that time. I was not particularly motivated to take my measurements this morning, let alone step on the scale. So no measurements from me today. But I did record a slight loss on the scale this morning. 

That is a loss of .6 pounds since last Wednesday.
While I am thrilled to see loss this week and I am still trying to figure out this whole weight loss “thing”. I believe I am OVER thinking it because it really can’t be THIS hard, can it? In this moment, weight loss seems very complex to me and I don’t know why. All the numbers and details seem to cloud my thinking and over power me. It’s like I am missing the answer on how to solve the problem. I often wonder if I am just not trying hard enough. I am still waiting for when it will finally “click” with me.


Question: While you are on your weight lose journey, what numbers do you focus on or worry about? The number on the scale? Calories in vs calories out? BMR or BMI? How are you losing weigh without over thinking the situation and stressing out about it?


12 thoughts on “Weigh In Time

  1. Baby Weight and Beyond

    I can’t wait to see what others are saying because I am kinda in the same place you are – this doesn’t need to be this hard. Reading your blog helps me keep going – I am not along, I am not the only one who struggles. We can do this.

    Reply
  2. PlushBelle

    Great job on the .6 loss! I’ve only been on plan for just over two weeks, so I’m hardly qualified to give advise – but I will say this. I started my blog in August and went around in circles until November before I had my ‘aha’ moment and everything just sort of clicked. At least for now it is. Trying is about the only thing we have to keep doing – giving up is not an option! ❤

    Reply
  3. Shannon @ BetterNextTime

    First: congrats on a .6 loss!

    I probably get a little too invested in the numbers, and am always trying to focus on the other benefits that are coming from losing weight and getting healthier – that helps to soften the blow of a number that I’m not happy with. I also made this goal for myself: to take time every day to congratulate myself on something well done. Helps to keep the mind positive and keep me in a state where I can shrug off a bad scale result.

    Reply
  4. EVE UNDERGROUND

    These days I don’t focus on a number, I focus on the foods I eat, I know that if I make clean whole food choices I can only expect good results. When I was losing weight I unfortunately did focus on the almighty scale, I also focused on my calorie count for the day.

    The easiest approach to take if you don’t want to use numbers at all is: before you buy/eat a meal ask yourself “is this truly 100% good for my body?”…and be honest with the answer, if the answer is yes, then eat it, otherwise don’t.

    Reply
  5. Anonymous

    I have a few strategies. The biggest one is that I do NOT focus on pounds or inches lost. For me it’s about health and physical ability. Those things are very measurable. I had blood work done in April and again last month and my doctor tells me it’s like a different person. NONE of my numbers are in any warning ranges. Seriously, none. From where I started, that’s a big damn deal. Second, I picked a few activities that I thought were fun, but I wasn’t particularly good at. One is running and the other is step. I can now run up to 8 miles and plan on a ½ marathon when before I couldn’t run 30 seconds. I can do a full 45 minute high-intensity step class on a 12 inch step where before, I struggled on a 6 inch. I don’t watch more than an hour of TV (from as many as four hours a day). I make sure I spend time in my studio and I NEVER refuse to run an errand in exchange for lying around. Yes, I have worn dirty pants because I was too lazy to go to the store for laundry detergent. Don’t get me wrong, I love the weight loss. I love wearing cute clothes and shopping at any store in the mall. I don’t want to put the weight back on at all. So I think about what I eat. Does it contribute to my health goals or is it a sort of poison? Is the 30 seconds of enjoyment really worth being sluggish, tired, and unsuccessful at my fitness goals? If I wait 10 minutes will I still want the junk? Is there an alternative that will make my body AND brain happy? Would my mother, daughter, grandmother be proud of this decision? Then, I don’t beat myself up when the cake wins. As long as my decisions are solid 90+% of the time, I’m good. My quality of life is about six thousand times better than eight months ago and that is what I do this for. It’s easy to turn down pizza, doughnuts, lazy Saturdays, or cookies when I really think about what they are doing to me. Even now, reading my own list I think ugh. I would eat that crap? I will tell you, it took a long time to get here. I know what you’re saying. I remember the feeling well. I was a crabby person for nearly a week when the scale didn’t do what I thought it should do. I’m not sure when the light bulb came on, but I’m so glad it did. Good luck to you, I know you’ll find your place!

    — Sue

    Reply
  6. Sarah

    I am wondering if I’ve lost people too.. lol.. but I am so not deleting you, mind-twin.. we are basically in the same boat.. I wish i had an answer, but I don’t..

    I know the original stuff, like moving is better than not, and ask yourself if you are eating because you are hungry, but even I don’t do the last one all the time.. 😦

    I am learning that I have to find what works for me, no matter what anyone else feels about it.. because what works for you might not work for me or someone else..

    Congrats on the .6 loss too! 🙂

    Reply
  7. aperfectversionofmyself

    I focus on two things: the calories (or points) I am taking in and my fitness level.

    I aim to be active 5 days a week – three good cardio sessions and two strength training/flexibility sessions. If I accomplish that, I feel like I’m fit and solid.

    I also watch how much I eat in terms of calories. Since I’m a Weight Watchers member, I track online through eTools and make sure I stay at my daily target. I try to eat mostly whole, unprocessed foods and I try to really think about what I’m eating BEFORE I eat it.

    Reply
  8. Deb

    I tend to focus on the number on the scale. I am coming to realize that focusing on that number is not really good for me. I start to stress out and that makes me gain weight. I think the secret is to find a way to live your life today – don’t put off anything until you “lose the weight” Have dreams outside of your weight loss goal. Make healthy eating and good portion size choices and the weight will come off.

    Reply
  9. Sarah

    I focus on what I eat. I try and maintain the right number of cals, but I also leave some wiggle room. While I know the cookie is not good, I make sure to save some cals for those types of things. I also try to get in the gym and while I like seeing the calorie count at the end, the miles and times are what I love.

    Reply
  10. kaitlin

    You will not lose meeee!!! =) Hey, you want to try to get together when I’m in Florida? If you are super busy, I totally understand – but if you find yourself on the gulf side, it would be great to meet up in person! =)

    Reply
  11. daniii♥

    I always feel like I’m missing the giant weight loss secret. I remember when I was in HS, I used to work at a bagel shop. I pretty much at bagels every day and by the time I got home, I was stuffed. Do you know I lost 10 lbs that year? Maybe I should go back on that bagel diet again. haha.

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

