Fat Monica

“Don’t dig your grave with your own knife and fork.” – NineInchGirl, MFP

That quote was so great for me today that I HAD to borrow it! 

I am going to have to assume everyone reading this has watched Friends at some point in their lifetime. This is a safe assumption, right? 

Last night I was flipping the channels and came across some Friends reruns that would entertain me until Monday Night Football. 
The particular episode that was on was: “The One That Could Have Been: Friends ponder what might have come to pass if each had take a different path in life.”
Monica flashes back to still being fat. The whole episode she was eating junk food and sweets. Then, at the end she is still a big girl and dancing around the living room while stuffing her face.

When the show was originally on it didn’t phase me that old Monica was fat. I watched the show for the humor, I loved it! But now, I see myself in her! Because I saw myself in Fat Monica, I was am disgusted by that person.

 OMG! Is that what I look like? Yes! That is what I have been doing lately. I have turned into Fat Monica. Eating my feelings, my emotions, my boredom! Eating because I can. Eating because I love chocolate. Eating to drown out the signals that I might be full.

Speaking of signals, yesterday I wrote about my brain signals, or lack there of. Now I am seeing myself in fat TV characters. This is not Kosher. It has to stop now!  I need to get this under control. The holidays are upon us and if I allow my eating problems to get worse my weight will end up higher than when I started!

 I know the scale is going in the wrong direction. I am pretty positive that when I weigh-in on tomorrow I will see a gain for the second week in a row.
As someone pointed out to me yesterday, she would rather be control freak Monica than fat Monica. Oh how true! I need to control of everything I buy at the grocery store, that gets prepared for my meals, and that I put in my mouth. That is the only answer. Control! 
Control freak Monica lost all her weight. Control freak Sabrina can too! 
I do not want to be the fat girl dancing around her living room with a Little Debbie in each hand. (I don’t actually eat Little Debbie’s, but pretty damn close)

This is me getting myself together. I am going to count every calorie and photograph every meal. I will not let myself be Fat Monica anymore. I will not continue on this backward slide.

Whew! It’s been a rough few weeks in my healthiness journey! Positive thinking…
So I am going to work on my goals/bucket list. Look for a new tab shortly! I also need to formulate a REALISTIC workout plan and update that tab. One I can stick to & build upon.
Drop me a line if you got a good one working for you, that I may be able to tweak!

7 thoughts on “Fat Monica

  1. kaitlin

    I was just thinking about Friends the other day! I don’t remember why though. It is my all time favorite TV show. =) You can do this, Sabrina!!! Put down the KitKats! Haha. Seriously, you can do it, you are stronger than you think. Just start with today. Don’t think about tomorrow or next week or next month. Just tackle today and make it a good day. Eat good food, and put it all in on MFP. Try to take a walk or do even 20 or 30 minutes of some sort of exercise. You got this. And you know you have all the support in the world here and on MFP.

    Reply
  2. Shawna

    You are like me: you eat for all the wrong reasons. You really need to check out a book called The Flat-Belly Diet. The diet is great and very effective…while still yummy. But also, it has a whole section of journal prompts and really helps you concentrate on the emotional and mental problems that are leading you down the wrong path. It’s $10.95 at amazon. You will love it, I promise.

    Reply
  3. Sarah

    Well goodness.. I thought I was the only Sarah in the world.. lol.. I love Fat Monica, because it makes me realize that even Monica was fat.. and isn’t anymore.. 🙂

    Oh, I gave you an award.. Check out my blog! 🙂

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

