Signals

Good Monday Morning! 
I was going to get the blog in the Christmas spirit and blog about my favorite Christmas Ornament (I already linked up HERE). Silly me, I am not home and just realized I don’t have my camera with me — making it difficult to participate. But I will come back to it.
I do have something to write about. I was thinking about it all night and as I fell asleep. Signals that I am full. 
I feel like I am always hungry! 
If I am bored, I am hungry. 
Working on the computer. I am probably hungry.  
After working out, I am definitely hungry. 
Soon after sitting down for a meal, I am still hungry. 
Eating multiple, smaller, meals is sometimes hard for me to do. 
But when I do break it down to many smaller meals I feel like I am eating all day.
Nothing seems to really satisfy me as of late. 
I can eat fruits, veggies, or nuts and I am left craving something more. 
If I eat a Luna Bar, I want something else with it or right after. 
Turkey burgers, chicken sausages, or whole grain anything just don’t do it!
And drinking water or chewing gum doesn’t seem to make a difference. 
The signals that are supposed to tell me NOT to eat or stop eating aren’t happening. 
Or, maybe they are and I don’t hear them, or understand them.
Dammit!  
Smart eating? Intuitive eating? Common sense? 
 I don’t know. But I am seriously missing some stomach-brain signals.
What I do know: I will never lose any real weight until I figure out how hear my body. 
I try to look/listen for any signals and clues. I can promise that! 
It’s frustrating to want to lose a significant amount of weigh but not yet have control over myself and the food I want to shove in my pie hole.  
I am spending as much time as I can learning about food and eating. 
I am searching for something that might make sense to me. 
If any of you know something I don’t, I am all ears! 🙂  
I despise the feeling that I can not do this. But I want to! And I have the most amazing supporters and friends who won’t let me fail. 

6 thoughts on “Signals

  1. Sarah

    You CAN do this! It’s a learning experience.. and somethings are harder to learn than others.. but you CAN do this.. I need to remember to read my signals.. I try to wait until my stomach is literally making noises OTHER people can hear (or I think they can) before I eat.. honestly, that’s the only way I know I’m actually hungry and not just thirsty..

    I’m reading this book, called Eat Up Slim Down, and it says that if you count to 10 before putting it in your mouth, usually you can talk yourself out of it (unless you are truly hungry)..

    Good luck, Sabrina! And again with the mindwave thing.. 😉

    Reply
  2. Baby Weight and Beyond

    Have you tried having a big glass of water when you “feel” hungry? I find when I am paying attention that this really helps me, sometimes I am just thirsty. Sometimes it helps to put some lemon or something to spice it up a bit 😉

    Reply
  3. Biz

    I agree with Baby Weight – sometimes when I don’t feel satisfied, I drink water and turns out I am dehydrated.

    I also eat bigger calorie meals – around 500 calories, so that I am not even hungry for snacks in between.

    You can do it! 😀

    Reply
  4. Syl

    I have found that if I have a bigger breakfast that includes hard boiled eggs my eating stays in check for the whole day. I also find that having a cup of hot tea in the evening helps curve the hunger for late night snacking.
    Nuts help me keep full to.
    Just some little tips.
    Some times it just takes some trial and error to know what works for you.

    Reply
  5. Shawna

    You should let yourself have 2 Tablespoons of peanut butter with every meal. It’s full of “good fat” and also helps fill you up so that you can make it to the next meal. Also, according to the diet I’m doing, you shouldn’t ever go more than 4 hours without eating. It messes up your metabolism.

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

