Holiday Eating

It’s that time of year again! Where we starting thinking about all the food, glorious food, that will be in front of us for the next several weeks. 
I have been thinking about food all weekend. My brother and I have been talking back and forth to devise a Thanksgiving menu. I also went food shopping and of course all the stores are so nicely decorated and their tasting tables smell divine! 
Some people dive right into the holiday without a second thought. No diets to worry about, no skinny jeans to fit into, and no calories to count! Man, what I wouldn’t give to be that person this year!  
If you are like me then you love all things food related and yummy! It’s hard for you to say no and resist the glorious food. 
In years past I have dove into to the holidays face first! Literally shoving all the food I can into my pie hole! Not a pretty picture, I know. The whole family is together and we get caught up in snacking, eating the big meal, drinking and watching football. I eat until I can eat no more and sometimes I eat until my stretchy jeans can’t stretch!  
This year I want to take a new approach. While I love indulging in all the EXCELLENT food that my family cooks, I want to be mindful of how I am eating and what I am eating. This is not going to be easy, after all I do not want to miss any dish that might be served.
 
INTUITIVE EATING! 
paying attention (on purpose), to your actual eating experience, without judgment.

On Thanksgiving! Oy!
Ah! I am still trying to become an intuitive eater!
So, in a conscious effort to cut back on a few Thanksgiving calories: 
  • I will fill my plate with small portions of only things I want. 
  • Take time to enjoy the conversations, jokes, and stories among the family.
  • Listen to my body telling me it’s full or satisfied. (This can be a separate blog entry!) 

 

I will try my hardest to apply those “rules” to all my holiday gatherings. This Thanksgiving will be the first real test of my will power. And boy am I nervous.
 
This morning I was playing around on Google and read somewhere that the average person gains about 5 pounds between Thanksgiving and New Years. I am no professional and don’t know how reliable that source was, but I don’t want to be included in ANY stat about weight gain! 
 
 What’s your “eating” plan for the holidays?

3 thoughts on “Holiday Eating

  1. Sarah

    Okay, seriously, I’m beginning to think we are working on the same brain wave or something.. your post is almost EXACTLY like mine.. lol

    Great minds think alike, and we will SO be showing losses (almost typed gains, oops!) after Thanksgiving is over!! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Becky

    I do NOT want to gain 5 lbs over the holidays! That would be so sad! I like your approach and will definitely be using something similar. I love the holidays, but I don’t want them to ruin all my hard work!

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

