Saturday Morning Ramblings

Here I am again, on another Saturday morning! I hope every one’s Saturday is off to a great start! 
I woke up this morning and went out to do a C25K training day!! Weird! The whole concept of exercise on the weekends is still foreign to me. But I had to make up for training I didn’t do yesterday.
I have been thinking about switching up my training schedule, again. I don’t want put too much stress on my body with constant running. I know my muscles, heart and lungs are not as strong as they should be. Shouldn’t I condition all those things before I take off on a 3-4 day running plan?  
We all know I can not stick to doing the 30 Day Shred for 30 days. I get bored and lose all interest. So what I was thinking is that I could re-work my training schedule to include two days of the 30 Day Shred and maybe one day with a really long walk. I am still toying with ideas but I think focusing on all parts of my body might be a better idea for me. I am hoping that by adding some circuit training to my weekly plan running will become easier and I will put less stress on my legs. 
What do you think?  
Also, I have been reading those pesky running forums which is what got me thinking about mixing up my schedule. A lot of people say not to do the C25K to lose weight, because you probably won’t. Those that do the C25K should already be conditioned with distance or speed to some extent. For example, walk 3 miles in under 45 minutes. Of course, other people on these forums write that it isn’t true and you can lose oodles of weight while becoming a good runner at the same time. 

My main goal is to lose weight, after all I have plenty of it to lose! But I also want to develop, strengthen and tone my muscles that I have been neglected for years. I am starting to think that the pains I feel in my calf muscles is simply because they are not strong enough to handle a full running schedule yet. If I scale back the running, add circuit training, and walking then my muscles can properly develop without stress? 

I am committed to finding a workable solution. Please weigh in with your thoughts. I am willing to consider anything that this point.
4 thoughts on “Saturday Morning Ramblings

  1. gettingfitfor50

    well, I’m not a fan of running, have tried the learn to run classes, and it’s not something I really got into. I could run in other sports (soccer, field hockey, etc.) but to do it by itself? I’ve had too many knee injuries to really enjoy it. You could be having calf muscle pain, because your other muscles that connect to them are inbalanced. I know my knee problems are because of overdeveloped thigh muscles and underdeveloped hams, but with the right exercises to balance them, it gets better.

    I’ve heard many conflicting things about running to lose weight, and what I’ve been finding that works for me is a combination of weight training and cardio – power walking,zumba class. I’m burning the fat, and building lean muscle.

    Do your research, and then do what feels right for you and your body.

    All the best in your journey!

    Reply
  2. lauravirginia

    Hi Sabrina! From my personal experience, I would just say that if weight loss is your primary goal, then running may not be the best route! I love to run, but to be honest it hasn’t helped me lose any weight. My nutritionist told me that the best way to burn fat is through weight training, so maybe you would be right by cutting back on the running and focusing more on strength? I don’t know, just what I have heard! 🙂

    Reply
  3. (Just) Trying is for Little Girls

    I think a combo of cardio, weight training and yoga is a good bet. I’m running 3 days a week, strength (through P90X videos) 2x/week and yoga/stretch 2x/week. I was running 5x/week and not losing any weight. When I mixed it up and started watching what I eat, I finally started losing. Good luck! Looking forward to following you.

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

