Committed

“Stay committed to your decisions, but stay flexible in your approach.” Tom Robbins
 
“There’s a difference between interest and commitment. When you’re interested in doing something, you do it only when circumstance permit. When you’re committed to something, you accept no excuses, only results.” – Anonymous


I needed a good, motivational, quote this morning after doing my weigh in. And since Lindsay hasn’t been here to give us quotes to ponder, I thought I could fill that void and share TWO quotes with you!

Funny thing about this blog is that last night I had it all laid out in my head and knew exactly what I needed to say. Then, I read those quotes and realized I had it all wrong.

I am interested in losing weight and living a healthy lifestyle. But I haven’t really been committed to losing weight. Other things always seem like more fun, or easier to do. I am made excuses and did things as the circumstances suited me.

Part of being committed means making something a priority. For about the last 8 years my health and body have not been a priority. I can’t even tell you that they have been secondary. Everything else was much more important. But in the grand scheme of things what could be more important than my health? 

I am not being hard on myself. Just some tough love. Intuitive eating, regular exercise, and living a healthy lifestyle are not habits yet. I need to stay committed and MAKE them habits. 

 
Even if I fall I need to get back up because that is what being committed is all about. I have to make a continuous effort to better myself and my health. No more excuses, only results


What do those quotes mean to you? Do they apply to you and your quest for a healthier lifestyle?

I still saw a loss of inches in both legs. Probably as a result of running. I am pleased with that. 
Now as we enter the busy holiday season I must stay committed to my goals. The platters of stuffing, mashed potatoes, or pies can not be my excuse. I will stay flexible and allow myself to eat what I desire rather than trying to avoid it all together. Indulge, but not over indulge. Most importantly, I need to remain committed to my training schedule.

7 thoughts on “Committed

  1. Michelle

    Your muscles could be swelling because of the running and you could be retaining water. I gained a bit of weight when I first started running. It took my body a while to get used to it before I started dropping the pounds.

    I know what you mean about being interested in losing weight but not really committed. I’m interested in that too… but I’m also too interested in ice cream and cookies!

    Reply
  2. Tracey

    Does this apply? OMG totally. I can so relate to this as i want it but not nearly as commited as I should be – need to be. All we can do is take it one day @ time & continue moving forward. I just recently had to sit down & have a chat w/ myself. Re evalute, Re commit. YOU ARE NOT ALONE!

    Reply
  3. Weight loss is NO FAIRY TALE

    Okay, so funny story. I was googling a picture of calf/shin supports and your picture in your “ouch” post came up. Which brought me to your blog!!

    I’m with ya on the running pain. Let’s keep it up. One of these days it’ll pay off…hopefully soon =D

    Debbie
    http://shrinkindeb.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  4. anna

    Yes, I think being committed to losing weight is so important. It’s a lesson I’ve been having to re-learn right now.

    Thanks for joining our bloghop for weigh-in wednesday. 🙂

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

