Dont Stop Believin

Don’t Stop Believin’
Hold on to that feeling
Have you ever just wanted to quit something, anything? 
You felt like you just couldn’t go on anymore. 
Did you quit? Or did you find a way to push your self through? 
Today, I wanted to quit. Actually, if I am being honest, I didn’t even want to start. On today’s schedule I was supposed to do Week 3, Day 1 of the C25K program. The task before me seemed very daunting. 
Walk 5 minutes. 
Then do two reps of the following:
Jog for 90 seconds
Walk for 90 seconds
Jog for 3 minutes
Walk for 3 minutes
Ah, I can’t remember the last time I ran 3 minutes straight with that short of a recovery period. I thought I was going to die. Or that my legs would snap from under me. *sighs*  
I set out to attempt the task before me, and I was not very confident at all. About a minute and a half into the jog for 3 minute segment I wanted to QUIT! I was done. This was stupid and I didn’t even know why I decided to try to become a runner, never mind even run a 5k! Then a famous song from Journey started to play on my MP3 player. 
Don’t Stop Believin’!
How was I supposed to give up with that in my ear? So I kept running. I pushed as far as I could and stopped running after 2.30. I didn’t run the full 3 minutes, but I ran an extra minute then I thought I would. And when the next round came up for another 3 minute jog, I ran the whole thing! I just kept telling myself one more mailbox until I was finally done. 
It was hard and I wanted to quit before I even got started. But I gave myself a chance, and I kept going. Sometimes all we need is a little voice, song, or quote to push us beyond what we think we are capable of. Just don’t stop believing in yourself!! 
On to business… Did you know that PriorFatGirl is holding a get together New Years event? All the lovely blogger from PriorFatGirl will be there! I am going to be there! I am leaving behind my lovely Florida winter weather to fly north to Minnesota in mid January, just to go to this event! So who is going to join me? It’s going to be a fabulous time! And what a better way to start the new year than with a little motivation and support from your closest blogger friends? Click HERE to register for the event before it sells out! 

Next… would you be so kind to peek around my blog and make sure you can read/see everything, including all my widgets and pages. I changed my blog layout and want to be sure it’s all in working order for you. Thanks bunches!
5 thoughts on “Dont Stop Believin

  1. Becky

    Mailboxes…I’m going to have to try that next time! Great job on the run and pushing through! Music saves me every time…I skip songs until I find one that actually does the job!

    Also, the blog looks great. I think I can see everything!

    Reply
  2. Sarah

    Good job at pounding out the minutes! I hate when I look at my training and the time expected has increased… “you want me to do WHAT?!” Haha! Then I get it done and am fabulously happy!
    Keep on keepin’ on!

    Reply
  3. sheshe

    Good job!! Doesn’t it feel good to have started the workout and finished it even when you didn’t want to? Music is a great motivator!! I tell myself just run through this song and you can stop when the next one starts. Funny thing, it seems I always pick the longest song!! haha Give that a try sometime!

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

