Passion Inside You

“There’s a passion inside
An inner strength that drives
Can’t nobody take that away from you
It’s the greatest high
You set the floor on fire when you come alive”

Do you have that one thing that brings out the rawest of emotions in you?

Maybe it’s something that has been a part of your life for as long as your can remember. 
Or maybe it didn’t come until later in life. It makes you happy beyond words. Makes you weep tears of joy. Fills you with passion. That thing you dream of. Cheers you up when you are down. You live for it!

You never want it to end. Beyond almost anything else in the world, you love this with every ounce of your being. You can’t express it in words. And it seems like no one else could ever understand that passion and feeling you having burning inside you.

What if it was suddenly gone? And you couldn’t enjoy it anymore. Your heart is broken. Part of your soul is gone. You feel dead on the inside. 
Because that is just how real and raw this makes you feel.

Or maybe you are the lucky one. Maybe you still wake up every morning and get to embrace these emotions and experience what brings you such great joy.  

Want to know what my passion is?  

DANCING!


I started dancing when I was about 4 years old, and I danced for almost 12 years. It consumed my life. Not in the crazy, my parents forced me to do it kind of way. No, this was all me. Dancing is the one thing I ever really loved. I didn’t care what else was going I just wanted to dance. 

I still do. I get that goofy, school girl, happy go lucky grin on my face when I watch a dancing movie, show, or see a group toddlers parading around in their ballet slippers.  

Through those 12 years I worked my way from Ballet to En Pointe. Jazz to Hip Hop. And from Clogging to Tap. I was at the studio 5 to 6 days a week. I will never forget the day my mom told me I wasn’t going to be dancing anymore. The studio I had been dancing at my entire life was closing. The own/instructor was retiring, and the person who was buying it was not going to keep it as a dance studio. 

Talk about heartbreaking. With my parents work schedule there was no way for them to get me from school and make the commute to another city so I could continue dancing. So it all came to an end. They will never know just how grateful I am for all their hard work and money spent so I could have a chance to do what I love.  

To this day I miss dancing, not a day has gone by that I don’t miss it. Nothing can fill that void in my life. I don’t blame anyone, it was no one’s fault. I certainly don’t blame my parents, they had already given me so much! But even they will never understand the emptiness I feel inside. 

Sure, life went on. I went to high school, started dabbling in soccer and other activities, but nothing was the same. And my high school was academically focused, so sports and extra curricular activities were not on the top of their lists. Then graduation came and went and it was time to think about college and real life. Dancing seemed so far fetched by then and that is when I really started packing on the weight. Of course my lack of dancing was not the only trigger to my weight gain.

Why am I talking about this now? Yesterday I was messaging back and forth with a new friend and we got to talking about So You Think You Can Dance. I watch that show religiously and I never fail to shed a tear or two. I always think that could have been me. 

This part of my journey is to become the girl I once was. To chase the dream that was cut short all those years ago. It’s prove it’s never to late to live your dreams!

Find your passion and the inner strength that drives you! 

Then go set the world on fire!!

What’s your passion and inner strength? What’s driving you?

 These are some of the last photos I had taken, about 10 years ago.
8 thoughts on “Passion Inside You

  1. Becky

    Are those photos of you? In either case, they are beautiful!

    I can’t wait till you can dance again, whether it is just for fun or professionally. I kept thinking of you the entire time I was watching the tour! And don’t worry–I took plenty of pictures to share with you!

    Reply
  2. Effie

    Those photos are amazing!!! You made me cry a little with your post – to have something you love so much just ripped away from you would have been devastating and it is obvious you still feel the pain after all this time. I wish you the very best with your journey, not only so you can wear those jeans (that’s a huge goal of mine as well), but so you can dance again. Have a great day.

    Reply
  3. Debbie

    Wonderful, emotionally powerful post. Your pictures are stunning! What a fantastic goal you have, so much better than a number on the scale, or a pair of jeans.
    BTW, I LOVE STYCD!

    Reply
  4. Shawna

    What a beautiful post and expression of your pain. I hope you get your dream back. What a blessing to find such joy in something, if only for a season of your life.

    iamthat-shawna.blogspot.com

    Reply
  5. Pingback: It’s Alright Again |

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

