Slow and Steady

HAPPY MONDAY TO YOU!!!
This will be short and sweet as I did not originally plan on blogging today. However, I read so many great blogs about the wonderful runs that some of you went on over the weekend. Now I felt inclined to share my ever so small victory.
I started the C25K training a few weeks back, but never consistently followed through. So I this week wanted to start back at Week 1 Day 1. With that in mind I reluctantly changed into my workout attire, then I sat back down to distract myself on Facebook. Lucky for me that did not last long.
So off I went. W1D1 includes a brisk 5 minute warm up walk, then alternate 60 seconds of jogging with 90 seconds of walk for a total of 20 minutes, and finally a 4 minute cool down walk.
Stats:
Time: 29 minutes
Distance: 1.99 miles
Pace: 16:09
Calories Burned: 182 (I really need an HRM — it’s going on my Christmas list!)
I am really happy with that. Especially since I finally figured out my breathing and why I kept getting so winded. Every time the bell rang for me to run I would take off running like a bank robber running from the cops!! Who was I running from? I think that is why I was so frustrated and never stayed with the program.
Today I took it one step at a time; small but quick steps! Much better!!
SLOW AND STEADY WINS THE RACE!
5 thoughts on “Slow and Steady

  1. MB

    Congrats on making progress with running. I’ve been struggling with the C25K for months. You inspire me to start over and take it slow, it’s not a race (yet). My new mantra is going to be “Slow and Steady.” Rock on!

    Reply

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

