Close Knit Community

Good Afternoon all,

Since joining the blog world a few weeks ago, and writing my first (now second) post, I have come to realize what a close knit community of friends and supporters blogging really is. It seems pretty special, and I can’t wait until I am considered part of this community. I know it takes time, putting myself out there, and some patience; but I am more than willing to do the work. Although writing such personal things and putting it out for the entire world to see is pretty motivating all on its own.

I graduated high school in 2003 and since that time I have worked full time in corporate America. I worked at two different companies, doing two very different jobs, with nothing but a high school diploma. I had started classes at the community college, but life took over and work got hectic so I stop attending. And that was okay because I really had no clue what I wanted to do with life. At my second job I was a Regional Merchandiser, I traveled all over the southeast opening stores and maintaining older ones. It was great, and I figured out the direction I wanted to take in college and life. Sometimes all good things must come to an end, and it was time for me to leave corporate America and chase my dreams. The summer of 2009 I quit working and spent some time focusing on myself and where I wanted my life to go. Sometimes things aren’t always black and white….

I started classes again at the community college in the fall of 2009. I was getting on track with school, but still trying to figure out exactly what degree path I wanted to take, and that was struggle enough for me. But then I remember waking up one morning and being completely disgusted with myself when I looked in the mirror. Not just about life, work, and school; but about my body and health too. How did I get here? How did I let my body become like this? I was a dancer, gymnast and soccer player growing up. I was fit, and healthy.  Over six years in corporate America had changed all that. Fast food on the go, eating out, late night eating, and NO exercise. I vowed to change everything about how unhealthy I had become.

Weeks, months went by and nothing changed. I even recall looking in the mirror and telling myself I was OK with how I looked; because I LOVE food. ARE YOU KIDDING ME!?! So almost a year later, here I am. Promising myself and the world that I am going to change. I am going to eat right, eat less, exercise more and shave off everything the last 7 years has brought on. And that’s where the blogging comes in… I need your help, your support, your stories and encouragement. Even if its just little ole me putting my journey into words and pictures. This is a fight, one that I am determined to win because I am a sore loser. But its not just about the weight and it’s about the rest of my life!

Free thinking and sharing is encouraged!

